Hey girlies, I'm almost at the three and a half weeks mark of my time here in Tanzania, and reading about all of you coming back to campus and going on what sounds like a fabulous Ice Age camping trip is making me a little sad . . . then I remember I'm in Tanzania and get to do lots of cool stuff too. Classes are kind of ridiculous already--four hours of Kiswahili class every morning plus two or more hours of Evolution or Ecology in the afternoon. Very exhausting and tends to limit my motivation to do homework. But I've had some good times, mostly shopping or going to random bars and struggling through Kiswa conversations with creepy middle-aged men. Plus I saw Batman here. Kinda hard core, I have to say. This Friday I'm looking forward to spending three days in Zanzibar with the group--if it's fun enough I might spend some time there over break. After we get back next Monday, only three more weeks until break, and then five glorious weeks in the field . . .
Besides that, I've just been eating too much rice and beans and running too little.
Hope Beloit is treating you all well. Enjoy classes (if you can!) Internet here is pretty spotty, but I'll write when I can.
Love, and miss you all,
Katie
Monday, August 25, 2008
Friday, August 22, 2008
BOD needs CROSS COUNTRY
Hey ladies. 'Tis the time of year to be returning to school, getting in perfect condition and gearing up for Cross. My body tells me this but unfortunately, it is not so. No school for Hammermeister. No Cross Country, no running even! Only work and more work. Sadly, I haven't gone for a run in almost two months. When I started my job at Covance I was working 15 hour days (well, I still am until the second week of September!) I also just moved into my FIRST apartment and still can't see the floor! So not really much time for running. Just gaining weight and losing sleep but its still exciting- turing into a grown-up! But my boyfriend, Bryan does enough running for the both of us. He just got second in the Paavo Nurmi marathon (2:43- pretty hilly). Although, this, in combination with the Olympics makes me want to run even more!!!
I really wanted to make a suprise visit to the camping trip tomorrow but I don't think I'll have time. Poop. Busy, busy. I hope you guys eat a buttload of burgers and variations of.
I just wanted to wish everyone good luck with the season! I loved Shelley's email and though it was very appropriate for your team. You have wonderful leadership and I'm excited to see what will happen this year! I'm also excited to hear stories and hear about new traditions (... Wine in the Woods).
Miss you guys!
I really wanted to make a suprise visit to the camping trip tomorrow but I don't think I'll have time. Poop. Busy, busy. I hope you guys eat a buttload of burgers and variations of.
I just wanted to wish everyone good luck with the season! I loved Shelley's email and though it was very appropriate for your team. You have wonderful leadership and I'm excited to see what will happen this year! I'm also excited to hear stories and hear about new traditions (... Wine in the Woods).
Miss you guys!
Friday, August 15, 2008
The Return to Peggy-ville
Yeah. Check it. Saw the Pegster today and was informed that even though she hasn't officially started work, buzz about a new track is revving up.
New Stupids for the Class of 2012 arrive tomorrow morning. In their honor, I'll be waving a sign on the corner of Park & Emerson, name tagged and all. Which brings me to an important question:
WHO IS HERE?
(Unofficial) practices are slated into the NSD Schedule starting Sunday afternoon. Bayerle, Santoro, & Gramling are RA-ing their asses off, but I suspect more runners will be sneaking back onto campus before the early morning take-off for the camping trip next Saturday. What are your travel plans? Are you already back in Wisco?
In any case, my floor dans La Maison Francaise is spacious, as are my loving arms. Let me know if you need heberging or a pick-up at the Van Galder. On the flip side, I miss Katie Singleton already. Jess, when do you take off again? Updates, please.
Wednesday, August 6, 2008
make it two weeks
Its getting close! I'm a little antsy to get back to Beloit and bask in its.... uniqueness. Shelley's post just made me more excited. I like this part of the summer in that the the season is close (and I think of you all, alllll of the time) and its still a learning process as to how to motivate yourself to run alone. Granted, there is the team (far away), but you don't have 25 people to run with you every day. Last week entailed a lot of miles, which felt good (if a little tiring) even though I had to do it primarily solo. Morning running makes it easier to withstand the heat and creates a solid start to the day. I'm also working on being more motivated to do ab exercises for core strengthening, which should help with hills and the like.
I'M SO PUMPED TO RUN WITH YOU SOON. Its been 9 months since cross ended- far too long to go without a group run and crazy adventure. Ice age is going to be amazing.
see you soon!
I'M SO PUMPED TO RUN WITH YOU SOON. Its been 9 months since cross ended- far too long to go without a group run and crazy adventure. Ice age is going to be amazing.
see you soon!
Changing of the Guard
I'm assuming someone on the team checks both the stuboard and this page from time to time and must already know this, but the college announced today that Peggy Carl will be the new Athletic Director as of September 8th. It may be too soon to pass judgement, but based on first impressions, I'm pro-Peggy.
Apply any/all applicable Obama slogans.
Apply any/all applicable Obama slogans.
Friday, August 1, 2008
Hell Yes
The title is in reference to the text I received from Ms. Echinacea Stutzbach last night:
" Three weeks til Beloit!"
I'll say it again...HELL YES! Can't wait! My summer's been screwy and segmented due to study abroad. Got back early July and have spent the past month job hunting. Honestly, I hate to think of the hours spent searching craigslist and U dub Job Center for summer employment.
There's no gettin' around it ...Nobody is looking to employ someone for an 8wk time frame!!
Luckily the Country Club just around the corner from my papa's new pad had somebody quit unexpectedly so I now host for a whopping 10hrs a week! Lately I've ridden my bike to work since the Jeeper had not been running she needed a new rotor distributor - asked the guy behind the counter what that does ..."I dunno I'm not a mechanic." ok
So yeah - had to take the Trek down County M in a dress and heels. Quite a sight.
But enough about me... I've been inspired by my Chi Running book and highly recommend you all check out a copy. Great for those of us who are plagued with yearly injury. In it author Danny Dreyer describes the benefits of applying the principles of t'ai chi to running. Kind of a holistic approach. It sounds hokey, but it really makes sense. The general idea is getting yourself out of the way and just running. Working with rather than against nature.
For a more apt and detailed description check out www.chirunning.com -- interesting concepts especially for anyone who has hit a wall with their running this summer.
Also wanted to reiterate part of a letter I wrote to Heney. I was writing to her about the season and getting progressively more fiery and passionate as I wrote (I apologize Heney for the soapbox style ...I was on a role.) But wanted to pass on the energy. Just wanted to say that I want us to own this season. I'm not saying own as in dominate, but own as in ownership. Make the team uniquely ours by innovating new traditions, new connections, and new ideas.
I was thinking about all the members of our team and seeing what a wealth of knowledge and experience we have as a unit. This collective insight is our strength and I want us to utilize it this season. There is a lot of potential for success this year and it can really be developed if we open all lines of communication. An open forum if you will. So take the initiative and SPEAK UP if you have an idea, a concern, or an inspiration.
We've performed well in the past, but I think there is potential for greater success . We need to consciously take steps to bettering ourselves and our team. So think about it.. do what works for you and share your successes with your teammates.
Ok ..I'm backing away from the pulpit. Sorry if the message was overkill - just had a lot of thoughts floating around in my head and wanted to get them out.
Can't wait to see you all - if you're passing through Madtown - gimme a ring!
Best,
Shelley
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)