Tuesday, August 25, 2009

The Schedge

Date Opponent Location Time

Sat., Sept. 12 @ Carroll University Pioneers Invite Waukesha, WI 10:30 a.m.

Sat., Sept. 19 @ Midwest Open (UW-Parkside) Kenosha, WI 12:00 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 3 Olde English Classic% Beloit 11:00 a.m.

Fri., Oct. 9 @ Benedictine University Eagles Invite Lisle, IL 4:15 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 17 @ WI Private Colleges Meet TBA 11:00 a.m.

Sat., Oct. 31 MWC Championships# Loves Park, IL 11:00 a.m.

Sat., Nov. 14 @ NCAA III Regionals Oshkosh, WI 11:00 a.m.

Sat., Nov. 21 @ NCAA III Championships Cleveland, OH 11:00 a.m.

# -- at Rock Cut State Park, Loves Park, IL
% -- at Leeson Park, Beloit, WI


In case any alums want to come see us run!


So far our only new freshies are Geneva and Kate, locals from the Madison area and Waukesha, respectively. We've got some more newbies, Tanishka Linnea Carmen etc, and Catherine Johnson has reappeared on the face of the earth, but as of now we are majority seniors. Which means next year we'll really have to do some kidnapping - I mean, recruiting - I mean, we're div 3, uhhh crap we're screwed.


But anyway - hooray for hosting conference! And we'll miss you Julie Heney, make Beloit look good for your new Senegalese friends.


Our camping trip is lined up to be in Rock Cut, where you can't reserve campsites or there was miscommunication or something so basically we're looking at the possibility of another epic backyard adventure. Or like 10 different sites, cause we're on the waiting list for a big group site. In any case, it's sure to be a good time and now that I'm no longer vegetarian, and neither is Lauren, there'll be lots more donut burger consumption... Stutz and Quade, I guess we'll bring a couple veggie patties for you...


Oh and Berdanier's a biology professor now, so that's pretty sweet.


That's all I got. Later gators.

Saturday, August 15, 2009

Gotta Jiboo

Monday afternoon, I get a call from Eckburg "uh so I know this is late notice...but I'm going to a Phish show in Chicago tomorrow and my brother bailed...Got 2 extra tickets."

Tuesday, 7pm - arrive via bicycle with my sister Katie & her boyfriend Calvin to Toyota Park, meet up with Eckburg, Owenby, Adam someone and Karen someone else. With 2 general admission tickets and 4 tickets up in the stands, Katie & I take the GA's and do a series of ins-and-outs (1 person leaving with both tickets to bring in the third and so on) so eventually we all get in, except Calvin who tried to hop the fence and got kicked out.

Phish starts playing and is fantastic, while Eck & Owenby discuss how to get their mysterious other 2 friends down to GA - somehow they got in a VIP box??

Mid-show, Eck disappears and comes back with his hands on his head and a silly grin on his face. I ask "Eck did you find those other 2 people yet?" ...he just giggles... I turn around to find Anne & Shelley.

Tricksters.
It was a good show.



photo from phish.com

Saturday, August 8, 2009

being an authentic runner

Heyo runners-

So last night I spilled water alllll over my bed. changed my sheets but the mattress was still wet. Woke up soaking and cold, reassured my roommate that I didn't pee my bed last night.

Anyhow

I've done some pretty interesting trips here in SoCal- Vegas, LA, Laguna Beach, and hopefully next weekend San Diego. Us interns stayed at a hotel in Hollywood last week, and while we were waiting outside a guy rodeby on his bike and told us that it was a hotel frequented by hookers and we should go somewhere else. We did no such thing- of course, and our sketch room was awesome even though the wall paper didn't match. Themed parties abound for us interns- around the world (my room turned into the N Pole, complete with snow that looked oddly like cotton balls) and dress like your stereotype. I was a runner and wet my shirt strategically to be authentic- sweat stains included.

Running is going pretty well here with some trails not too far away. I have a club that likes to go in the mornings. I miss you all though and can't wait for Beloit! Just two weeks and we're one big happy family again.

yaaaay
Julie