Friday, February 29, 2008

March in Valencia!!

GOOD LUCK AT CONFERENCE, CHICAS! I wish I could be there to atleast watch! I am sure everyone will run great...and if you don't have the race of your life...well, know that the only person who is mad at you is yourself! That was supposed to be motivational...I don't know if it really came out right..GO TEAM!!

I just wanted to give you all an update! Dana and Em Foubert are coming down to Valencia this weekend! I am very excited, and I will let you all know how it goes! I think we are going to the touristy type things...the gigantic aquarium, maybe a cathedral, haha! And of course (something that I haven't really taken to, the crazy-ass drunken night life! People don't go out til 2am and come back at around 8am!! I can run, but I don't have that kind of stamina!!)

School here is super hard, the classes themselves as far as work load goes are easy, but the professors are a little hard to understand! The weather is finally get getting warm enough for the beach! We actually saw people swimming the other day! I don't think I am that adventurous yet, but soon! I am taking an aerobics class with some girls, which is really fun! We go Mon-Thurs..and the instructor is my grammar professor...funny, huh? I am also taking a salsa dance class--which has nothing to do with Spanish culture, but it's awesome anyway! I do have a partner, but Aaron and I are still holding strong, big surprise, huh? I have been running everyday, but I got this stomach virus thing which kind of tied me down for a while! But I am back to normal and running again! I really miss running with you guys!

Also, just wanted to throw this out there (I know some people already know, like Leah) but I applied to study abroad in Ecuador in the Fall, and I got in! So, that is in the works as of right now! Pretty exciting! I am really enjoying focusing in on my Spanish skills...and I have this dream to travel the world--figured I would get started now!

I miss you all, and I hope you all do great at Conference. I know you will! I think about you all everyday day, and I hope everyone is hanging in there with everything! Oh, and Happy Spring Break! Who's going to Florida??? Love you all!!

Thursday, February 28, 2008

Conference Time Bitches!

Hey Guuurlz!

(I'm so caught up on this girls with a "u" thing, I guess I'm so ghetto that I just can't help it)

So we're off to Conference this weekend at Illinois College in good ole' Jacksonville, Il. I just wanted to tell everyone that is in Beloit good luck. We've worked really hard so far and I know that we're going to run spectacularly! To everyone that is abroad, we love and miss you and wish that you could be here to score some sweet points for the team. Man, with Shelley and Julie around (one example) we would rock the DMR.... some podium action for sure.

I hope everyone is safe and having so much fun. I love hearing from people all the time and would love to see pictures as well. Tomorrow we're dressing up crazy style for practice. You guys abroad should do it too... just for shits and giggles.

Alright, much love.

Tuesday, February 26, 2008

India...and Running...yeah right....

Hey everyone! So I guess I should chime in and talk about running in India. It is pretty much a show here in India because women just don't run outside here. Because I am in the city there are millions of people everywhere you turn...so really there is no hiding. This has made running obviously a challenge but I try my best to ignore the stares, men actually physically standing right in front of me at the park etc. while trying to go for a run. The traffic here is also really bad...lets just say nobody uses lanes so running on the street is a bad idea. On a better note I have been doing Yoga...and since it originated in India I find it to be even more worthwhile. Otherwise I am doing alright. I don't regret my experiences in India but they are very intense and on a level that really you can't describe in words. Anyway, I start my internship soon with street children in the hills so maybe I can get some running in there...but the 100 degree temperature might get to me...who knows really. You can't predict what anything is going to be like in India...just take it as it comes!

Keep running strong ladies! Miss you all so very much.

Love,
Alicia

Monday, February 25, 2008

Finally!!!!

Yassou!

Sooo I've wanted to post for a while now but everything here is in Greek (even Google!) so it took me a while to figure out how to sign up! But I got some help and here I am! I've enjoyed reading your posts! It sounds like running/track is going really well...keep up the good work!!

Greece is excellent so far...I absolutely love my roommates and the nightlife is nutty (in a good way, of course). Our apartment is about a 15 minute walk away from the Acropolis, and about a 10 minute walk away from the original Olumpic Stadium! You can't run on the actual track if you're a lowly civilian, but they made a path around the top that's pretty sweet. There's also the National Gardens near our apartment so I've been running there as well. Other than that it's impossible to run anywhere else!! The traffic is intense...I've almost gotten taken out by a scooter on mulitple occassions.

The Greek men here are intense...very hairy and dark. I've also had the experience of being whistled at, smooched at, or clicked at as I run or walk by. Gross!

Keep the updates coming! I miss all you guys a lot! Good luck at your meets! Love yas!

Carly

Sunday, February 24, 2008

Wowww

Hey ladies-

For those of you who are abroad, I have to tell you I have the craziest professor, crazier than Roc Ordman, I promise. Anyways, yeah thats another story.

This Latino Machismo thing is sort of perplexing me. I think that a lot of the reason that that random Ecuadorian decided it would be a good idea to race me is because, well, I am a girl, and girls are slow, right? So he had to prove himself or whatever.

What also strikes me as odd when I run is the hissing. Guys actually hiss, but it doesn't make sense. I guess being a snake has some phallacal (a word?) implications, but really, if I am running by and see a snake hissing at me, what do I do? Stop? Maybe pet it? See what it can do for me? Uhhh, no. I wanna fucking run away.

In other news, I LOVE SCUBA DIVING. Like really, if you ever have the chance, hazlo... Today we dove to this huuuge shipwreck, like 100m long. It was cool to see this mix of machine and wildlife. I saw a gigantic lobster, tons of seastars, crazy algae, an octopus, giant schools of fish, rays... and also a sea lion that really enjoyed our company. He wanted to play the whole time. Eeeee. Yesterday I saw a sea turtle and what I think may have been a sea snake when I was snorkeling, but more likely an eel.

I'm really starting to settle in and enjoy this place, plus I'm meeting some great people. At about 5:30 i'm going to go on a 90 minute run with my friend Israel and possibly Danny, both are super fun. i promise, we will not race each other on the way down.

Studz

PS- What is going on in Italy?- i just sent invites to Australia and Greece, so hopefully we'll hear soon.

Hot Trend Alert

What's in: Spitting
Where: Everywhere, all the time.
Started by: Who knows, but all the cool kids are doing it.
The DL: It's the new snotrocket (less phlegm, still expulsive) AND it's classic at the same time.
Testimonial: "I'm sick of getting spat on in public places, especially indoors, but if it looks cool, it looks cool. You can't take "cool" away from the French, mec."

In other news: I'm hopping on a train to Lyon in five minutes. It would be better if you all were here. And if someone hadn't just inadvertently spat their "coolness" onto my shoe.

Friday, February 15, 2008

julie beat some ecuadorian

so... today at practice eckburg read an email ms.julie stutz wrote to the coaches... i definitely have to say that it was freakin' hilarious. it might have even been better than d-wood's many emails of last year.
I know that many of us here in Beloit are jealous of the experiences/ fun times you are all gaining abroad but I do have to say... we are having a good time here!
It is very different with many of my close friends gone... I do miss you all of you... and i hope that you all are being safe and responsible travelers...

We are approaching conference and it is that time in the indoor season when all you want to do is NOT run... well... at least that's what i feel like. I am still having a good time... just tired...
its probably the combination of midterms and practice... ugh
i think its really good that more members of our team have joined the blog... it is nice to hear from all of you!

Wednesday, February 13, 2008

best dance moves this side of the galapagos

I'll tell you, I have them.

Yesterday began Galapagos week with a beach clean-up. Quite successful. Followed by fiesta, which was, well, divertida, to say the least.

I really want to spoon with a sea lion, but I don't think they would really like that.

Je ne comprends pas


... ce qu'il faut dire. I'm in France. I'm taking the same classes I took in middle school. I'm living in French at the hands of the French. Take off for Lyon and the Alps in a week. Oh! Here are some things that might interest you:
  1. I eat fish.
  2. Running is great here, but the cobblestones are slippery and mostly it's lonely. There are some good routes in the city, but my favorite game is to run as far as I can away from the center of town.  I only turn around when I start to panic that I won't be able to find my way back. This is only "okay" because the municipal bus system extends out past the burbs. Never leave home without the bus pass. I-n-t-e-r-d-i-t-e.
  3. France is magical in the way Disney is Floridian. It's something about the lamp posts.
  4. The Euro is kicking my ass.
Here are some more sentimental thoughts:
  1. I miss you all.
  2. I even miss Karen Baumann.
  3. Please, remind Karen to shower.
Happy Valentine's Day. Run fast. Etc.

Love, Heney

Saturday, February 9, 2008

Oh India




Hey all you ladies! I miss you all very much. There is so much to take in here. I am having a wonderful time but there are times when things are very tough to see and experience. I don't want to be a downer but the poverty and lack of sustainable development is pretty intense in India. I am thankful for my life in the US that is for sure. I miss being able to talk to you all! Hard to describe my feelings with the internet but if any of you have skype just let me know and I will skype you! Anyway I have included a couple pictures...but really you should all check out my facebook profile for more photos of my life in India! It is pretty incredible to actually be here. It still sometimes doesn't seem real. Thanks for all the updates on running performances. I am so proud of you all!! Wish I could be there to cheer you on!

Love,
Alicia

Thursday, February 7, 2008

Running with marine iguanas

The island where i am
Sea Lions are everywhere!

Hiya-

So I was running today on the beach with Sarah Godfrey, and some marine iguana scared the hell out of me. It was my first marine iguana siting- pretty awesome. It really looked like a rock at first. I saw it spray salt out of its nose which was a good moment. Upon further inspection, there were tons of them around. I got super-excited.

In any case, miss you all.

Monday, February 4, 2008

Holy Crap Chicago Duals!!!

Hi ladies! I just wanted to fill those abroad in on our fabulous running skills (wish you were here to race)! The meet was at U of Chicago and was fantastic! We started the day off at noon with an amazing DMR containing Ally, Emily, Steph and Anne rocking out like a 2:50 first half of her mile. The gloriousness continued on with two fabulous runs in the 5000. Karen smashed through the 21min mark with a PR of 20:56 and Lana ran a wonderful 21:21. PRs kept rolling in in the mile from Leah (5:47) and Ellen (6:11) and a great race from Katie Singleton (6:38 a PR?). Clare H and Hilary smoked out some "tasty" 800s as Eck would say (2:52, 2:56 respectively). M-Dawg and I finished up the day with 3000s at 12:45 and 10:50 also respectively. We had some fabulous sprint and field performances and the guys punched out some great ones with a debut from Bo Wilkins who ran a 2:08, 800. I'm sure Eckburg, who put his shirt on inside out and backwards 4outof 5 days last week would say, "tiggles" to that.

Speaking of Eckburg, we missed everyone at the pig and vegitarian chili-filled super bowl bash in Eck's basement. It was crowded and entertaining (thanks to 3 puppies and Eric Wright). I think I gained like 5 pounds and I'm sure Jared is regretting eating the equivalent of 10 pork sandwiches, over eating Ian by double... no joke.

I hope everyone abroad is happy and warm.
Keep rockin' everyone else.
Hammer (I think I should apply to be the new SID)

Que tal todas?

Pues, I am here in Spain! We have been all over the place...Madrid, Barcelona, and all over Andalucia (in the south), and needless to say it was really fun, but REALLY tiring! I am pooped, and I didn't even get to run that much! Some of the days we walked more than 10 miles, though, so I need to join a walking team! I am morphing into Emma! Haha, j/k..but, not really. Anyway, I miss you guys! It is weird not running with everyone everyday at 4pm! I have class here at 5pm...the schedule is so weird here!! The weather is amazing, and I am loving the sunshine, unfortunately not that tan yet! Unlike Leah! (you look hot! I am loving the tan. I take it Mexico was awesome!) I saw some of the pictures from the fiesta at Eck's house. Looked like fun as usual! I hope you all enjoyed some of the piglet! BOO NEW YORK! HOORAY PATRIOTS!

I really don't have much to say, I hope you are doing well. It sounds like running is definitely going well for everyone? Bien hecho, chicas! I'll keep you all posted with the current events in Spain. Love you guys!