Wheeeewww my deepest apologies to those graduated/abroad for a serious lack of blogging this semester. I blame Genetics. It has not been uneventful, as the blog may imply, but rather the team did quite well (ahem, 3 wins in a row.) It was a great season, and the banquet was hilarious as usual.
I'm back in Jers now, playing wii fit with the fam, eating lots of sushi, maybe figuring out the summer, and Shelley is coming to visit (!) I'm pretty pumped about track, and now that finals/traveling are over running every day for 50-70 is doable. I bring Homer and Wilma (the puppers) with me sometimes. Just hope that Homer won't pick up some small dog in his mouth again.
Miss you already. Have some good holidays and what not. See you indoors (and out in the cold as well.)
Saturday, December 20, 2008
Well folks, that was an epic semester. Definitely a total shitshow at times, but looking back it was all in all a good time, I suppose. I had about one somewhat decent race total, but I'm really proud of most of the team. We worked hard, even if it didn't totally show in our conference standings. Since when do the guys get a higher place than us?? Haha. We went out with a bang, our banquet western-themed and fabulous (see facebook for photos).
Awards:
girls-
MVP - Knowleski
Spirit - Gabbie and Shelley
Most improved - Anna banana-bee
Newcomer - Lauren
Captains - KB & Stutz
guys-
MVP - Mantoine
Spirit - Davendoj
Newcomer - Mateo
Most improved - Gagerade
Captains - d'ya hafta ask? Josh&Jared, o course.
Next semester I'll be off with the lemurs, but I'll be thinking about all of you every day, especially on my runs... when I get around to them ;-)
Later gators,
KB
Awards:
girls-
MVP - Knowleski
Spirit - Gabbie and Shelley
Most improved - Anna banana-bee
Newcomer - Lauren
Captains - KB & Stutz
guys-
MVP - Mantoine
Spirit - Davendoj
Newcomer - Mateo
Most improved - Gagerade
Captains - d'ya hafta ask? Josh&Jared, o course.
Next semester I'll be off with the lemurs, but I'll be thinking about all of you every day, especially on my runs... when I get around to them ;-)
Later gators,
KB
Wednesday, December 17, 2008
White Outs, Etc.
Greetings from the Green Mountains. Good luck to everyone still taking exams in WI and best to everyone out in the real world. We're getting our second Nor'Easter this week and I'm snowed in. Third day of treadmill, or bust. Maybe snowshoeing this afternoon if I can find poles. And the entrance to the trail. Winter cross-training? Yes, please.
This blog has been pretty quiet, but Singleton and Jess should be back in the country shortly. For the spring semester, we're sending Karen, Ellen, Anna, Anne, and Jie off into the wild yonder. Or quelquepart. So maybe this slog will suffer some revival after all.
Just dropped by to point out that although the Athletics Dept had nothing nice to say about us on the main feed, someone finally updated the gallery with photos from Ye Olde English Mess and a couple of windswept group shots from the roof of the Science Center.
Safe holiday travels to everyone. And please don't be that asshole who sprains their ankle in a slush puddle. That's just the worst.
Big Lub,
Heney
Wednesday, October 29, 2008
GOOD LUCK AT CONFERENCE!!!

Hey Ladies!!
I just wanted to say good luck to everyone! Conference is always a fun time. I have confidence that you all will be wonderful. I was going to come watch, but I'm running my first ever marathon this Sunday too!!! Going for the big ole Boston (3:30) Its 2hrs north of Madison so it would be too much driving the day before to come see you, but I'm there with you in spirits!!
Just remember why you love running and run run run and have fun! I've provided a wonderful picture to show you all why I run.
Love, Hammer
Friday, October 24, 2008
HIHIHI
Well ladies, the bloggie is collecting dust! Ecuador is good. I would venture to say better than Spain, although it is just super different--it suits me better. In the spirit of elections, I thought I would share this youtube video with you all--I think it is hilarious (sorry if you are voting republican...ahem). I hope everyone votes! If you are old enough! U-S-A, U-S-A, U-S-A! hahahaha!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FiQJ9Xp0xxU
take care runner women!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FiQJ9Xp0xxU
take care runner women!
Tuesday, September 30, 2008
Where the wind comes sweeping down the plains...
Hey Girls!
I miss you guys a ton. Oklahoma is good, its a weird place but pretty much ok. I like school and my classes a lot but I do not think I will ever get used to this strange midwestern/southern blend culture they have going on around here, its crazy.
I'm thinking about doing a marathon in the spring probably in March or April hopefully in the Southwest or Mountain regions. Eck is helping to find a good one.
Now for some fun facts about Oklahoma:
1. They do not self identify as a southern state, they believe they are part of the midwest.
2. They have never heard of Culvers, or deep fried cheese curds. : (
3. They firmly believe that all those fossils and remains of ancient humans we have found are actually just Gorilla skulls that the silly scientists think are old. What do scientists know anyway right?
4. I may be the biggest hippy in this state, literally, everyone wheres shoes, showers everyday, there is no tie-die, thrift store or curiously mis-matched clothing. An alternative life style is someone how wears the same outfit twice in two weeks.
5. Wisconsin has nothing on Oklahoma's obesity rate. There are a lot of large people here. I would estimate 1 in 3 are very very large. Another one of those three is a blond, starving sorostitute.
6. Sororities and Fraternities in the south are exactly like what you read in Pledged or saw in a teen movie, not the way they are in Beloit.
7. The farther south you go the better the Mexican food gets. It puts Casa Grande to shame!
Nothing else to report, I'm going to try and get out to Beloit sometime this year to see you girls.
Love you tons!
Heather
Wednesday, September 24, 2008
Haven't died of malaria yet.
Howdy again. I thought I ought to write a little considering I'm about to begin phase two of the African saga of which I've chosen to be a part. I just wrapping up a one-week break which involved some luxuriously lazy days in Zanzibar, seeing dolphins, napping, buying scarves, napping, eating, meeting a rapper who also sells seafood during Ramadan, meeting a guy with a monkey named Cobra (never did figure out what the guy's name was), napping, and throwing up in public three times in one day (a word of advice--avoid the lethal combination of too much fresh pineapple and choppy ferry rides after five hours of sleep). Tomorrow I go to Arusha, and soon I will start interviewing Maasai about breastfeeding.
Sadly, now that we've moved from the campus dorms to host families and my host family live off campus, it's a lot more difficult finding times to run when I won't either get mugged or get hyperthermia from the heat. But I keep trucking--hopefully things will improve in the field.
As Karen mentioned, I am sending out periodic emails--if interested, let me know and I can shoot some your way. I hope the season is going well for all of you and I can't wait to meet the new folks in the spring.
Take care,
Katie
Sadly, now that we've moved from the campus dorms to host families and my host family live off campus, it's a lot more difficult finding times to run when I won't either get mugged or get hyperthermia from the heat. But I keep trucking--hopefully things will improve in the field.
As Karen mentioned, I am sending out periodic emails--if interested, let me know and I can shoot some your way. I hope the season is going well for all of you and I can't wait to meet the new folks in the spring.
Take care,
Katie
Thursday, September 18, 2008
New addition from abroad
I just added the link to Katharine's Paris blog to that list over on the right, which you guys may or may not know exists, so go read it. Singleton's been keeping in touch via email and posting here (thanks Katie!) and the Popester just may have disappeared off the face of the earth.
Ok naptime.
Ok naptime.
Tuesday, September 16, 2008
It's not about the lyrics...
... it's about Jackie Chan!
On an unrelated note, good workout today.
Firsties are half-done with the morning business.
If you're not here, we miss you.
Monday, August 25, 2008
Hello from halfway around the globe
Hey girlies, I'm almost at the three and a half weeks mark of my time here in Tanzania, and reading about all of you coming back to campus and going on what sounds like a fabulous Ice Age camping trip is making me a little sad . . . then I remember I'm in Tanzania and get to do lots of cool stuff too. Classes are kind of ridiculous already--four hours of Kiswahili class every morning plus two or more hours of Evolution or Ecology in the afternoon. Very exhausting and tends to limit my motivation to do homework. But I've had some good times, mostly shopping or going to random bars and struggling through Kiswa conversations with creepy middle-aged men. Plus I saw Batman here. Kinda hard core, I have to say. This Friday I'm looking forward to spending three days in Zanzibar with the group--if it's fun enough I might spend some time there over break. After we get back next Monday, only three more weeks until break, and then five glorious weeks in the field . . .
Besides that, I've just been eating too much rice and beans and running too little.
Hope Beloit is treating you all well. Enjoy classes (if you can!) Internet here is pretty spotty, but I'll write when I can.
Love, and miss you all,
Katie
Besides that, I've just been eating too much rice and beans and running too little.
Hope Beloit is treating you all well. Enjoy classes (if you can!) Internet here is pretty spotty, but I'll write when I can.
Love, and miss you all,
Katie
Friday, August 22, 2008
BOD needs CROSS COUNTRY
Hey ladies. 'Tis the time of year to be returning to school, getting in perfect condition and gearing up for Cross. My body tells me this but unfortunately, it is not so. No school for Hammermeister. No Cross Country, no running even! Only work and more work. Sadly, I haven't gone for a run in almost two months. When I started my job at Covance I was working 15 hour days (well, I still am until the second week of September!) I also just moved into my FIRST apartment and still can't see the floor! So not really much time for running. Just gaining weight and losing sleep but its still exciting- turing into a grown-up! But my boyfriend, Bryan does enough running for the both of us. He just got second in the Paavo Nurmi marathon (2:43- pretty hilly). Although, this, in combination with the Olympics makes me want to run even more!!!
I really wanted to make a suprise visit to the camping trip tomorrow but I don't think I'll have time. Poop. Busy, busy. I hope you guys eat a buttload of burgers and variations of.
I just wanted to wish everyone good luck with the season! I loved Shelley's email and though it was very appropriate for your team. You have wonderful leadership and I'm excited to see what will happen this year! I'm also excited to hear stories and hear about new traditions (... Wine in the Woods).
Miss you guys!
I really wanted to make a suprise visit to the camping trip tomorrow but I don't think I'll have time. Poop. Busy, busy. I hope you guys eat a buttload of burgers and variations of.
I just wanted to wish everyone good luck with the season! I loved Shelley's email and though it was very appropriate for your team. You have wonderful leadership and I'm excited to see what will happen this year! I'm also excited to hear stories and hear about new traditions (... Wine in the Woods).
Miss you guys!
Friday, August 15, 2008
The Return to Peggy-ville
Yeah. Check it. Saw the Pegster today and was informed that even though she hasn't officially started work, buzz about a new track is revving up.
New Stupids for the Class of 2012 arrive tomorrow morning. In their honor, I'll be waving a sign on the corner of Park & Emerson, name tagged and all. Which brings me to an important question:
WHO IS HERE?
(Unofficial) practices are slated into the NSD Schedule starting Sunday afternoon. Bayerle, Santoro, & Gramling are RA-ing their asses off, but I suspect more runners will be sneaking back onto campus before the early morning take-off for the camping trip next Saturday. What are your travel plans? Are you already back in Wisco?
In any case, my floor dans La Maison Francaise is spacious, as are my loving arms. Let me know if you need heberging or a pick-up at the Van Galder. On the flip side, I miss Katie Singleton already. Jess, when do you take off again? Updates, please.
Wednesday, August 6, 2008
make it two weeks
Its getting close! I'm a little antsy to get back to Beloit and bask in its.... uniqueness. Shelley's post just made me more excited. I like this part of the summer in that the the season is close (and I think of you all, alllll of the time) and its still a learning process as to how to motivate yourself to run alone. Granted, there is the team (far away), but you don't have 25 people to run with you every day. Last week entailed a lot of miles, which felt good (if a little tiring) even though I had to do it primarily solo. Morning running makes it easier to withstand the heat and creates a solid start to the day. I'm also working on being more motivated to do ab exercises for core strengthening, which should help with hills and the like.
I'M SO PUMPED TO RUN WITH YOU SOON. Its been 9 months since cross ended- far too long to go without a group run and crazy adventure. Ice age is going to be amazing.
see you soon!
I'M SO PUMPED TO RUN WITH YOU SOON. Its been 9 months since cross ended- far too long to go without a group run and crazy adventure. Ice age is going to be amazing.
see you soon!
Changing of the Guard
I'm assuming someone on the team checks both the stuboard and this page from time to time and must already know this, but the college announced today that Peggy Carl will be the new Athletic Director as of September 8th. It may be too soon to pass judgement, but based on first impressions, I'm pro-Peggy.
Apply any/all applicable Obama slogans.
Apply any/all applicable Obama slogans.
Friday, August 1, 2008
Hell Yes
The title is in reference to the text I received from Ms. Echinacea Stutzbach last night:
" Three weeks til Beloit!"
I'll say it again...HELL YES! Can't wait! My summer's been screwy and segmented due to study abroad. Got back early July and have spent the past month job hunting. Honestly, I hate to think of the hours spent searching craigslist and U dub Job Center for summer employment.
There's no gettin' around it ...Nobody is looking to employ someone for an 8wk time frame!!
Luckily the Country Club just around the corner from my papa's new pad had somebody quit unexpectedly so I now host for a whopping 10hrs a week! Lately I've ridden my bike to work since the Jeeper had not been running she needed a new rotor distributor - asked the guy behind the counter what that does ..."I dunno I'm not a mechanic." ok
So yeah - had to take the Trek down County M in a dress and heels. Quite a sight.
But enough about me... I've been inspired by my Chi Running book and highly recommend you all check out a copy. Great for those of us who are plagued with yearly injury. In it author Danny Dreyer describes the benefits of applying the principles of t'ai chi to running. Kind of a holistic approach. It sounds hokey, but it really makes sense. The general idea is getting yourself out of the way and just running. Working with rather than against nature.
For a more apt and detailed description check out www.chirunning.com -- interesting concepts especially for anyone who has hit a wall with their running this summer.
Also wanted to reiterate part of a letter I wrote to Heney. I was writing to her about the season and getting progressively more fiery and passionate as I wrote (I apologize Heney for the soapbox style ...I was on a role.) But wanted to pass on the energy. Just wanted to say that I want us to own this season. I'm not saying own as in dominate, but own as in ownership. Make the team uniquely ours by innovating new traditions, new connections, and new ideas.
I was thinking about all the members of our team and seeing what a wealth of knowledge and experience we have as a unit. This collective insight is our strength and I want us to utilize it this season. There is a lot of potential for success this year and it can really be developed if we open all lines of communication. An open forum if you will. So take the initiative and SPEAK UP if you have an idea, a concern, or an inspiration.
We've performed well in the past, but I think there is potential for greater success . We need to consciously take steps to bettering ourselves and our team. So think about it.. do what works for you and share your successes with your teammates.
Ok ..I'm backing away from the pulpit. Sorry if the message was overkill - just had a lot of thoughts floating around in my head and wanted to get them out.
Can't wait to see you all - if you're passing through Madtown - gimme a ring!
Best,
Shelley
Wednesday, July 23, 2008
Roadkill, Part II
Last night, I went out to run a bit late. I know it was stupid to go after dark, but I was wearing a neon green Casella Waste Management T-shirt. I figure if it is safe for garbage men at dawn, it's good enough for me. Anyway, I was off doing the latest bastardization of Pig Farm, when I ran into some trouble-- a Good Samaritan issue.
I was passing by the pigs on Stateline-- a bit ripe at this point in the summer-- when a little dog came running into the road, complaining about the smell or something. He was a pocket dog, a Paris Hilton slap-bracelet. But he was in the road and he was following me. I started walking, trying to get him to turn around and maybe this is where I went wrong, but when I got back up to speed, he was planted in the center of the westbound lane, seated and ready to guard. Which, of course, is when I saw the headlights turn toward us.
I don't like watching things die, especially when I'm the one who provoked them to leave home. So, this SuperDuty SuperHuge truck is barrelling toward us and I'm on the shoulder and the dog is still in the middle of the road. With a few hundred yards to spare, I do the stupid thing and jump in front of the dog and start waving my arms like a deranged cheerleader. (Really, Safety First campaign? Did my public school fail the "Crossing the Street" lessons?) The driver honks and throws on the brakes, giving me time to pick up that stupidfuckingdog and chuck it onto it's own lawn. It's shaking. I'm pissed. It's pissed itself. No one is happy.
The driver rolls down his window and with my face level with his sideboard, I manage to explain "dog," before hopping back on the shoulder and running off. Was chased by two other small/disposable dogs on the way back through College Park, but nothing dramatic.
In other animal kingdom news, I saw four deer, three turkeys, and two owls on Sunday. Feels like Thanksgiving...
I was passing by the pigs on Stateline-- a bit ripe at this point in the summer-- when a little dog came running into the road, complaining about the smell or something. He was a pocket dog, a Paris Hilton slap-bracelet. But he was in the road and he was following me. I started walking, trying to get him to turn around and maybe this is where I went wrong, but when I got back up to speed, he was planted in the center of the westbound lane, seated and ready to guard. Which, of course, is when I saw the headlights turn toward us.
I don't like watching things die, especially when I'm the one who provoked them to leave home. So, this SuperDuty SuperHuge truck is barrelling toward us and I'm on the shoulder and the dog is still in the middle of the road. With a few hundred yards to spare, I do the stupid thing and jump in front of the dog and start waving my arms like a deranged cheerleader. (Really, Safety First campaign? Did my public school fail the "Crossing the Street" lessons?) The driver honks and throws on the brakes, giving me time to pick up that stupidfuckingdog and chuck it onto it's own lawn. It's shaking. I'm pissed. It's pissed itself. No one is happy.
The driver rolls down his window and with my face level with his sideboard, I manage to explain "dog," before hopping back on the shoulder and running off. Was chased by two other small/disposable dogs on the way back through College Park, but nothing dramatic.
In other animal kingdom news, I saw four deer, three turkeys, and two owls on Sunday. Feels like Thanksgiving...
Sunday, July 20, 2008
running with plants
HOLA GUAPAS
I hope that everybody enjoyed the spike in mileage with double runs this week. I did. Today's 1:40 included a lot of dirt roads (as do all of my runs lately) and while running on a "cart trail" I spotted an Echinacea population. Being the purple-coneflower-obsessed plant biologist that I am, I stopped to count the number of flowering plants and the one that will flower later. 18. Super-excited to have discovered remnants previously unknown to the Echinacea project.
I've been taking some aerial photos standing on a 10 foot ladder with a 4m pole. With a camera on the end, its like push-ups, so I've been doing more to train for it. Hopefully this will help me not to secretly die when we do them in practice like last season.
Saludos
I hope that everybody enjoyed the spike in mileage with double runs this week. I did. Today's 1:40 included a lot of dirt roads (as do all of my runs lately) and while running on a "cart trail" I spotted an Echinacea population. Being the purple-coneflower-obsessed plant biologist that I am, I stopped to count the number of flowering plants and the one that will flower later. 18. Super-excited to have discovered remnants previously unknown to the Echinacea project.
I've been taking some aerial photos standing on a 10 foot ladder with a 4m pole. With a camera on the end, its like push-ups, so I've been doing more to train for it. Hopefully this will help me not to secretly die when we do them in practice like last season.
Saludos
Thursday, July 17, 2008
Mistrakes
Accidentally miss the "w" in our web address and you get this gem:
Just another way to feel better about yourself. Or you could go for a run. Aw, snuggle-huggies {non-sexual}.
Wednesday, July 16, 2008
Back to normal
Sooo finally our dorm has hot water again - Alliant Energy has returned the steam to Cedar Rapids! Hooray for hot showers! AND the science building and the dorms have A/C - much easier to put on rubber gloves on a not-quite-as-sweaty hand.
Also apparently I'm getting a roommate. A junior in high school. Named Cimone. Yep, with a C. So we'll see how that goes.
And, just to make sure the everything was going as usual, I have once again sprained my ankle. (Playing soccer, shh don't tell Eck.) I was even wearing my brace. I do not trust that thing anymore. This one is healing pretty slowly, I think it might even be worse than the Kettle Moraine incident last fall. I can walk on it fine, but it's nowhere near 100%, still pretty swollen and with some bizarre purplish regions (?). Hopefully it'll get better in time for the BIX, which is in a week and a half... in the meantime I'm using it as my excuse not to run, and thus am doubting myself more and more for this hilly 7-mile road race that's 1.5 hrs away...
Just spent the evening with Helen at Coralville mall (or something like that) pretending that we're not broke college students and that we actually can afford that $120 dress... and going to Goodwill and actually buying things there. Such as a Hawkeye sweatshirt (I had to) and Helen's choice of a CD titled "The Thing That Floyd Ate" which ended up being a terrible pop punk mix, including Less Than Jake and Anti-Flag, which really should have warned us but no. There was even a quote on the CD from Floyd about how he loves waking up in the morning with no teeth. Oh, Floyd.
Well I'm off to take a gloriously hot shower and maybe even scald my skin a little bit...because I can.
Take care,
KB
Also apparently I'm getting a roommate. A junior in high school. Named Cimone. Yep, with a C. So we'll see how that goes.
And, just to make sure the everything was going as usual, I have once again sprained my ankle. (Playing soccer, shh don't tell Eck.) I was even wearing my brace. I do not trust that thing anymore. This one is healing pretty slowly, I think it might even be worse than the Kettle Moraine incident last fall. I can walk on it fine, but it's nowhere near 100%, still pretty swollen and with some bizarre purplish regions (?). Hopefully it'll get better in time for the BIX, which is in a week and a half... in the meantime I'm using it as my excuse not to run, and thus am doubting myself more and more for this hilly 7-mile road race that's 1.5 hrs away...
Just spent the evening with Helen at Coralville mall (or something like that) pretending that we're not broke college students and that we actually can afford that $120 dress... and going to Goodwill and actually buying things there. Such as a Hawkeye sweatshirt (I had to) and Helen's choice of a CD titled "The Thing That Floyd Ate" which ended up being a terrible pop punk mix, including Less Than Jake and Anti-Flag, which really should have warned us but no. There was even a quote on the CD from Floyd about how he loves waking up in the morning with no teeth. Oh, Floyd.
Well I'm off to take a gloriously hot shower and maybe even scald my skin a little bit...because I can.
Take care,
KB
Hey!!!
Hello Ladies! The last couple weeks have been so busy for me with work. WOW. I had no idea going into this internship how time consuming it would be but I love it. Each day is a mix of memorable and challenging moments with the children at the Boys and Girls Club in Janesville. I am still enjoying summer in the little free time I have but it is going by way too fast. I can't believe I am going to be starting student teaching on August 25th and that isn't too long from now. AH!!
A couple weeks ago I was lucky enough to visit Amanda in Madison! We watched some of the olympic trials together. It was wonderful to see her so happy and get to catch up. Also, this past weekend was RiverFest so Heney and Quade and I hit up the Beach Boys Concert! It was great to spend time with those to crazy ladies and the night was full of lots of laughs. Getting to see some of you has made this summer so great. I can't wait to see the rest of you very soon! Lots of stories and good times to catch up on. Lastly, last week I went our for dinner with Eckburg after hanging out with him at his weekly radio show for WBCR. He is running a 100 miler this week so wish him all the best. I know Marta went out to Vermount to cheer him on but I will let you all know how it goes when I hear. I ran into Karl at the library this week and he is busy studying for his teaching license. He looked good and it was nice to bump into him! I think that is all for updates... oh wait, I sent Carly flowers and we have been in close contact. She is at home recoverying and if you get a chance call her and say hi!
So life is good right now for me. Miss you all like crazy and keep the updates coming you all. I will just keep doing my thing with all these kidos! The best thing about my summer is I get to bring out the best in kids! What more could I ask for??? :) Love to you all!
~Alicia
A couple weeks ago I was lucky enough to visit Amanda in Madison! We watched some of the olympic trials together. It was wonderful to see her so happy and get to catch up. Also, this past weekend was RiverFest so Heney and Quade and I hit up the Beach Boys Concert! It was great to spend time with those to crazy ladies and the night was full of lots of laughs. Getting to see some of you has made this summer so great. I can't wait to see the rest of you very soon! Lots of stories and good times to catch up on. Lastly, last week I went our for dinner with Eckburg after hanging out with him at his weekly radio show for WBCR. He is running a 100 miler this week so wish him all the best. I know Marta went out to Vermount to cheer him on but I will let you all know how it goes when I hear. I ran into Karl at the library this week and he is busy studying for his teaching license. He looked good and it was nice to bump into him! I think that is all for updates... oh wait, I sent Carly flowers and we have been in close contact. She is at home recoverying and if you get a chance call her and say hi!
So life is good right now for me. Miss you all like crazy and keep the updates coming you all. I will just keep doing my thing with all these kidos! The best thing about my summer is I get to bring out the best in kids! What more could I ask for??? :) Love to you all!
~Alicia
Sunday, July 13, 2008
Hi Everyone!
Okay... So, this is going to be a very short post because i don't have much time. Fire season is busy here in California!!!! You all should be very proud if Emma and myself. I just got back last week from a ten day assignment on the eastern side of the sierra's.... the Clover Fire. Emma left last Wednesday to detail with the Arrowhead hotshots for a 14 day assignment... i think she went to the Big Sur Area.... i am soooooo proud of her. she is probably getting worked like an animal! poor thing....
anyways we both are making the big bucks. 16 hour days when youare on a fire.... that means base pay plus 8 hours of over time... then hazard pay.... which we deserve...!
I am about to go on another fire tomorrow... i am very tired...
i love all of you and i miss running... i really am trying best to keep up...
but i am in incredible shape muscle wise... i am all buff due to the fact that I am on a saw team this year.
anyways.... as for my personal life.... i am single.... yes, joe and i broke up... or we are going on a break. i am sad about it...but am too busy to really stomach what has happened. so... i will probably need consoling when i get back to beloit!
i'll save the details for later.... due to the fact that i have no idea who will be reading this!
i will see all of you in august.... wish me luck on this next fire assignment!
muah,
-leah
anyways we both are making the big bucks. 16 hour days when youare on a fire.... that means base pay plus 8 hours of over time... then hazard pay.... which we deserve...!
I am about to go on another fire tomorrow... i am very tired...
i love all of you and i miss running... i really am trying best to keep up...
but i am in incredible shape muscle wise... i am all buff due to the fact that I am on a saw team this year.
anyways.... as for my personal life.... i am single.... yes, joe and i broke up... or we are going on a break. i am sad about it...but am too busy to really stomach what has happened. so... i will probably need consoling when i get back to beloit!
i'll save the details for later.... due to the fact that i have no idea who will be reading this!
i will see all of you in august.... wish me luck on this next fire assignment!
muah,
-leah
Tuesday, July 8, 2008
dirty cars and stealing traffic cones
Hey sexy mamas
What a journey this weekend has been. I drove down to Cedar Rapids to visit Karebear after work, which was a bit farther than I anticipated. I had Lee, the sexy voice of my GPS, to guide me, but nonetheless I did not arrive to Karen until about 1 in the morning, having left at about 6, including a detour.
I promptly passed out on Karen's convenient extra bed, waking up for the arrival of Heney and Gager. They brought me to the realization that my car is EXTREMELY dirty due to all of the dirt roads around here. Barney was almost brown. We tried to go to 'Floodstock" (a music festival) to benefit flood victims but alas, you cannot support flood victims without being 21. That night, we watched some fireworks and then sat around for an hour waiting for the traffic to die down enough so that we didn't idle for a ridiculous amount of time. Of course, we also stole a traffic cone. Afterwards, more of our own fireworks with Karen's REU friends. We taught them how to play Asshole which was entertaining. Me: President twice WHAT!
Anyways the next day we rolled out of bed to go help out with the flood clean-up. It was awesome to see so many volunteers come together to help out their neighbors. We ran and then drove to Des Moines for 80 35 and saw the roots live. ASTOUNDING. We also stopped for Pizza at the cheesiest and most kid friendly pizza restaurante you've ever been to in your life.... or so it would seem, but the front of the take out menus encourages its customers to "munch out." Hmmm...
So thats the gist. Even though I probably spent way too much money on gas, it was totally worth it. Don't worry, Barney has since returned to purple because of a rainstorm. Who needs soap anyway?
What a journey this weekend has been. I drove down to Cedar Rapids to visit Karebear after work, which was a bit farther than I anticipated. I had Lee, the sexy voice of my GPS, to guide me, but nonetheless I did not arrive to Karen until about 1 in the morning, having left at about 6, including a detour.
I promptly passed out on Karen's convenient extra bed, waking up for the arrival of Heney and Gager. They brought me to the realization that my car is EXTREMELY dirty due to all of the dirt roads around here. Barney was almost brown. We tried to go to 'Floodstock" (a music festival) to benefit flood victims but alas, you cannot support flood victims without being 21. That night, we watched some fireworks and then sat around for an hour waiting for the traffic to die down enough so that we didn't idle for a ridiculous amount of time. Of course, we also stole a traffic cone. Afterwards, more of our own fireworks with Karen's REU friends. We taught them how to play Asshole which was entertaining. Me: President twice WHAT!
Anyways the next day we rolled out of bed to go help out with the flood clean-up. It was awesome to see so many volunteers come together to help out their neighbors. We ran and then drove to Des Moines for 80 35 and saw the roots live. ASTOUNDING. We also stopped for Pizza at the cheesiest and most kid friendly pizza restaurante you've ever been to in your life.... or so it would seem, but the front of the take out menus encourages its customers to "munch out." Hmmm...
So thats the gist. Even though I probably spent way too much money on gas, it was totally worth it. Don't worry, Barney has since returned to purple because of a rainstorm. Who needs soap anyway?
Tuesday, July 1, 2008
Duck in an Oil Spill
I woke up at 7 this morning and took off out East Grand. I went over the railroad tracks and crossed onto the course. 45 minutes later, I was back at the French House trying to scrub off for work. It was then that I discovered:
1. My left leg is now tie-dyed purple. The color won't come off.
2. My right leg is graced with an anklet of tar-- still warm, looks a lot like poop.
According to the Internet, I have to wait for the tar to harden and then peel/chip it off. Freezing it is the last resort. I got the bulk of it with Dawn & a sponge (technique stolen from the environmentalist oil spill clean-up films of my youth), but there's still a nice smear that should accompany me for the next couple days.
While I remember running through the purple flowers that got the best my left side, I'm not sure where this tar is from. Not a big deal, but something to obsess over. Good thing I've got some time to spare.
1. My left leg is now tie-dyed purple. The color won't come off.
2. My right leg is graced with an anklet of tar-- still warm, looks a lot like poop.
According to the Internet, I have to wait for the tar to harden and then peel/chip it off. Freezing it is the last resort. I got the bulk of it with Dawn & a sponge (technique stolen from the environmentalist oil spill clean-up films of my youth), but there's still a nice smear that should accompany me for the next couple days.
While I remember running through the purple flowers that got the best my left side, I'm not sure where this tar is from. Not a big deal, but something to obsess over. Good thing I've got some time to spare.
Sunday, June 29, 2008
Morraine!
So its not Kettle, but its still pretty satisfying how many hills there are here. Rolling hills, all of the way, everywhere which makes me die sometimes but also happy. Its been far too long since I've run with a team. One person will run with me sometimes though, but hes from Grinnell. I don't know how I feel about fraternizing with the enemy (unlike some people,) but hey, you take what you can get. He doesn't run cross-country so it may be considered acceptable.
I had much fun in Minneapolis last weekend with Ellen and a couple friends from Jersey. I hope that I can get back there. Won't be too soon though because right now I'm pretty busy. The Echinacea are flowering which is a pretty big deal here in Kensington, MN.
Today I tried my first sports-bra run here. Mosquitoes and ticks frequent the trails so I've taken the shirt approach until today's road run. It would have worked out well except I wore a Camelback too which put this huge blister in my side. I've taken to running with music in lieu of people, which helps some but I reiterate: I miss you all.
Amor
Friday, June 27, 2008
A sports bra that generates energy?
This might be nice if I ever listened to music while I ran (or even owned an iPod): Harnessing the untapped power of breast motion. Still intriguing though!
Thursday, June 26, 2008
PROCASTINATING.....
HI GIRLS!
Well, I have one final left on the 30th, then I am meeting the fam in Barcelona for a two week vacay in Italy and Spain! I am super excited to see them! It is definitely weird being away for so long!! I miss everyone soo much! What is everyone doing for the summer?? I hope everyone is enjoying everything so far and that everyone is being safe! I am going to try to get to the beach here a couple more times, but then I am out of here on the 1st of July! Wish me luck on my exam--I don't think it is going to be easy! Anyway, obviously, no new news here...but I just wanted to give a quick update! Love you, guys!
Jeeesssssss
Well, I have one final left on the 30th, then I am meeting the fam in Barcelona for a two week vacay in Italy and Spain! I am super excited to see them! It is definitely weird being away for so long!! I miss everyone soo much! What is everyone doing for the summer?? I hope everyone is enjoying everything so far and that everyone is being safe! I am going to try to get to the beach here a couple more times, but then I am out of here on the 1st of July! Wish me luck on my exam--I don't think it is going to be easy! Anyway, obviously, no new news here...but I just wanted to give a quick update! Love you, guys!
Jeeesssssss
Tuesday, June 24, 2008
Greetings from the Land of Tall, Flood-Devastated Corn and Giant Pork Tenderloins (If the pigs haven't all drowned and decayed yet)
I am back in Cedar Rapids, and currently trying to decide whether to spend my evening playing pick-up soccer, biking downtown to survey the damage, or making a trip to the HyVee to pick up some groceries, as I will, at some point, need some nourishment. The two apples, two oranges, and Korean chocolate (courtesy of my sister's recent travels), and bag of craisins that my mom sent me off with are probably not gonna cut it. I'm thinking a combination of the second two, since I'm lazy and it's like 85 degrees here and we don't even have hot water to shower with for another 2 weeks (although a cold shower might feel quite nice after an evening of soccer in 85 degree heat).
Sidenote: I have added the link to Miss Heney's admissions blog onto our lovely list on the right-hand side of this here website, in case anyone wants to see how the lovely, family-and-prospective-student-friendly Beloit summer life is treating her.
Well I am off to ...somewhere. I'll probably be back on here later tonight with photos of the downtown Cedar Rapids debris-filled wasteland. (This or facebook. Perhaps both. Although last time I tried uploading pictures onto facebook, I killed my parents' computer. This was last week. Awkward...)
Later gators.
Sidenote: I have added the link to Miss Heney's admissions blog onto our lovely list on the right-hand side of this here website, in case anyone wants to see how the lovely, family-and-prospective-student-friendly Beloit summer life is treating her.
Well I am off to ...somewhere. I'll probably be back on here later tonight with photos of the downtown Cedar Rapids debris-filled wasteland. (This or facebook. Perhaps both. Although last time I tried uploading pictures onto facebook, I killed my parents' computer. This was last week. Awkward...)
Later gators.
RACING!!!
Hey you gals! Just wanted to say hi and that I miss you all. I ran in a race on Saturday in Janesville for the Rock Country YWCA, Race Against Racism 5k. It was lots of fun but small. No worries, I left with a trophy for 3rd in my age group. :) But really I wasn't doing it for a time but rather for the cause. It made me think about how excited I am for the fall cross country season. I feel like even though many of us were away this last semester blogging has brought our team much closer. That is a wonderful thing! Sending my love to you all. Don't worry, the flooding of the Rock River has been kinda bad but most of downtown is fine. But our two bridges run along the river wouldn't be possible at this point today with alll the flooding. Life is treating me really well. Can't wait to see you all!!
Love,
Alicia
Love,
Alicia
Sunday, June 22, 2008
Happy Healthy Feet
Ladies,
Just thought I'd share this link with you: http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=91661083&ps=bb3
Feet rock.
Just thought I'd share this link with you: http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=91661083&ps=bb3
Feet rock.
Saturday, June 21, 2008
Summertime in Madison
Hey ladies! I hope everyone's summers are absolutely fantastic. Its gorgeous here in Madison, especially since it hasn't been too humid lately and the thunderstorms have let up. I'm doing really well but I miss everyone too much. Its been pretty hard making friends. My two roommates are awesome and we have a good time but other than that its hard to meet people. My job as a nanny is not exactly the best social outlet! But I DO love the kids! I have so much fun with them everyday. The two year old, Grady is absolutely the smartest kid I've ever met (don't tell my baby brother Nicki) and Annika, who's 4.75, is wonderful as well. The job reminds me that even though I'm not in college anymore, I still don't have to grow up.
If anyone is in the area let me know. I think both Karen and Julie had a good time on their short visits (back me up on this girls). We ended up being able to participate in the fabulousness of The Great Dane Brewery's Texas Speedbump IPA even though neither of them are of age. I would love more visitors. And yes, as Julie mentioned, I have been hanging out with a member of the Ripon crew. I think that Eckburg approves. We've all gone to two concerts together so far and I think Eck is okay with it. His approval may be more important to me than my own father's. Now if we can only get Julie to make out with Jim Hein...
In addition, Madison is the most wonderful place. I'm the happiest I've ever been. The Farmer's Market on Capitol Square, the giant arboretum and endless bike paths...what else does one need in life?
Love and miss you all.
If anyone is in the area let me know. I think both Karen and Julie had a good time on their short visits (back me up on this girls). We ended up being able to participate in the fabulousness of The Great Dane Brewery's Texas Speedbump IPA even though neither of them are of age. I would love more visitors. And yes, as Julie mentioned, I have been hanging out with a member of the Ripon crew. I think that Eckburg approves. We've all gone to two concerts together so far and I think Eck is okay with it. His approval may be more important to me than my own father's. Now if we can only get Julie to make out with Jim Hein...
In addition, Madison is the most wonderful place. I'm the happiest I've ever been. The Farmer's Market on Capitol Square, the giant arboretum and endless bike paths...what else does one need in life?
Love and miss you all.
Monday, June 16, 2008
Positives
- CLS is here, so I now see more than ten people a day.
- The summer residents don't have ID cards until tomorrow, so I snuck into Commons for a massive dinner. I stole two peaches and didn't have to do the dishes. It was a big deal.
- Today was neither humid nor rainy and my running shoes were dry for the first time in a week.
- Marta "M. Dawg" Casey is in town. My boss is not.
- The Rock River hasn't flooded downtown Beloit, yet.
It's not much, but that's the update from here. Let's get on a log. Stutz was talking about going GoogleCalendar like the guys, but I don't have enough initiative to figure this out (read: I'd rather be playing cribbage... with myself). Hope you're all on dry land. Big love, etc.
Saturday, June 14, 2008
The Longest leg of my roadtrip
Hola chicas-
Here I am, at the bottom of a ski hill on a moraine in Kensington, MN: population 270. It has been quite the journey to get here with stops in Cleveland, Chicago, Wilmette, Rockford, Beloit, Madison, Minneapolis but the longest leg of my journey actually was in Iowa, basically, most of the state with Brain, Gager, and Eckberg. It was quite the journey, complete with the biggest truck stop in the world, an awesome concert, a tour of Iowa, and a return to Rockford at 5:30 AM. We crossed the Illinois border four times. See: beloitdistance.blogspot.com .
Following that adventure, I drove up to Beloit to see the lovely Miss Heney, unfortunately no Gramster because of a job, but then to Madison for Hammertime. It was quite the ridiculous night in Madison with some of the odd Ripon crew- interesting story actually, I'll tell you sometime.
So now I'm out in the middle of nowhere, Minnesota with hills and Echinacea. Echinacea is my plant of study, and even though I've been working for four days I close my eyes and immediately see those pubsecent, three veined leaves (not flowering yet.) Its pleasant, and not tooo far from Minneapolis but still a decent chunk of change in my gas tank. Regardless of the cost, I will be heading there tomorrow for a four day weekend when I'll FINALLY get to see ellen and mari knowles and yaaaay.
Love you guys, miss you tons, can't wait for Ice Age!
Here I am, at the bottom of a ski hill on a moraine in Kensington, MN: population 270. It has been quite the journey to get here with stops in Cleveland, Chicago, Wilmette, Rockford, Beloit, Madison, Minneapolis but the longest leg of my journey actually was in Iowa, basically, most of the state with Brain, Gager, and Eckberg. It was quite the journey, complete with the biggest truck stop in the world, an awesome concert, a tour of Iowa, and a return to Rockford at 5:30 AM. We crossed the Illinois border four times. See: beloitdistance.blogspot.com .
Following that adventure, I drove up to Beloit to see the lovely Miss Heney, unfortunately no Gramster because of a job, but then to Madison for Hammertime. It was quite the ridiculous night in Madison with some of the odd Ripon crew- interesting story actually, I'll tell you sometime.
So now I'm out in the middle of nowhere, Minnesota with hills and Echinacea. Echinacea is my plant of study, and even though I've been working for four days I close my eyes and immediately see those pubsecent, three veined leaves (not flowering yet.) Its pleasant, and not tooo far from Minneapolis but still a decent chunk of change in my gas tank. Regardless of the cost, I will be heading there tomorrow for a four day weekend when I'll FINALLY get to see ellen and mari knowles and yaaaay.
Love you guys, miss you tons, can't wait for Ice Age!
Evacuated.
So the flooding got INSANE, it kept rising past the predicted levels, cresting later and later, I think reaching the 1000-year level. Nuckin futs. I believe it crested yesterday at 32 feet. Anyhow, Coe College was for the most part safe, except for its physical plant building, but is without power. They moved us all to Cornell in Mt. Vernon about a half hour away, expecting to keep us there for a few days, then received word that Coe would be without power for at least 2 weeks. So they sent everyone home, if they had a way to get there, and Cornell offered to house anyone who did not have a place to go for as long as needed (bless their heart). Latest news, though, is that we should have power to the whole campus within 2 or 3 days of the water receding from the phys plant building, so the time frame is looking better: http://coecollege1851.org/
SOOO for the time being, I'm here in Chicago again!! I may be visiting Beloit. I have yet to hear from Helen, though - 2 days ago she sent me a text saying they haven't been able to leave their house, but I think she should be ok. I haven't been able to get a hold of her since, but I'm hoping that's just because she hasn't been able to charge her phone. I'm about to dig out Who's Where and find her on the map. Everyone pray for all the 4,000 evacuated families in Cedar Rapids, plus all those elsewhere! I'm not even religious.
Edit: See the guys' blog for an entertaining story by Gage about a very Eckburg-esque expedition to an Iron & Wine concert in Iowa City that I was supposed to attend.
SOOO for the time being, I'm here in Chicago again!! I may be visiting Beloit. I have yet to hear from Helen, though - 2 days ago she sent me a text saying they haven't been able to leave their house, but I think she should be ok. I haven't been able to get a hold of her since, but I'm hoping that's just because she hasn't been able to charge her phone. I'm about to dig out Who's Where and find her on the map. Everyone pray for all the 4,000 evacuated families in Cedar Rapids, plus all those elsewhere! I'm not even religious.
Edit: See the guys' blog for an entertaining story by Gage about a very Eckburg-esque expedition to an Iron & Wine concert in Iowa City that I was supposed to attend.
Thursday, June 12, 2008
FLOODING...RAIN...AH
Hey ALL!
So life in Beloit and work in Janesville might just get a little more exciting this summer. They are preparing for the Rock River to crest and then flood in the next couple days. Needless to say I am tired of the severe weather, lots of rain, and possibilty of sandbaging. Karen, you stay safe girl. Hopefully the flooding here won't be as bad as it is in IOWA.
I am doing really and loving interning at the Boys and Girls Club in Janesville, luckily the bus between Beloit and Janesville has saved me some money on gas. But my experiences here so far are priceless and really rewarding. I am designing and implementing programming for the children. These children come from disadvantaged backgrounds and to say that their lives are disadvantaged is an understatement. Already, I have delt with issues of neglect, abuse, crime and such. Despite all up against them the Boys and Girls Club has been a safe place for these kids to come to and just be kids. Hopefully in the next couple days I wont have to make them fill sandbags for a community service activity. You never know though...
I actually have really liked spending the summer so far in Beloit. Transitioning from being in India has been made easy by all the love and support I have in my life! Yesterday I got to see Julie H. finally :) and the other Julie should be making her road trip stop here soon! Exciting!! I will also be visiting Hammer next month in Madtown! :) Hope your finals go well Jess. Everytime I look at the news now I have so many important countries and U.S. states to check out. California, Wisconsin, Iowa, Spain, Australia, Illinois. AH. Can't even keep track of it all...so keep the updates on all your lives coming. And can't wait to see you guys!
Love,
Alicia
So life in Beloit and work in Janesville might just get a little more exciting this summer. They are preparing for the Rock River to crest and then flood in the next couple days. Needless to say I am tired of the severe weather, lots of rain, and possibilty of sandbaging. Karen, you stay safe girl. Hopefully the flooding here won't be as bad as it is in IOWA.
I am doing really and loving interning at the Boys and Girls Club in Janesville, luckily the bus between Beloit and Janesville has saved me some money on gas. But my experiences here so far are priceless and really rewarding. I am designing and implementing programming for the children. These children come from disadvantaged backgrounds and to say that their lives are disadvantaged is an understatement. Already, I have delt with issues of neglect, abuse, crime and such. Despite all up against them the Boys and Girls Club has been a safe place for these kids to come to and just be kids. Hopefully in the next couple days I wont have to make them fill sandbags for a community service activity. You never know though...
I actually have really liked spending the summer so far in Beloit. Transitioning from being in India has been made easy by all the love and support I have in my life! Yesterday I got to see Julie H. finally :) and the other Julie should be making her road trip stop here soon! Exciting!! I will also be visiting Hammer next month in Madtown! :) Hope your finals go well Jess. Everytime I look at the news now I have so many important countries and U.S. states to check out. California, Wisconsin, Iowa, Spain, Australia, Illinois. AH. Can't even keep track of it all...so keep the updates on all your lives coming. And can't wait to see you guys!
Love,
Alicia
FINALS IN SPAIN = NOT FUN!
So, I have officially done no work all semester, and now we are all pedal to the metal to get our studying done for finals! It's not fun, and I want to go to the beach! Karen! I hope you have a canoe or something--where's Dana when you need her? Haha! It has been raining here a ridiculous amount too--but we are not close to flooding yet! There was an oil spill--speaking of catastrophes! I think it is all cleaned up now...which is good..for more reasons than one--but I really just want to go swimming!
Emily F is coming in tonight to spend a long weekend--we are going to go down south for some better beaches and warmer weather. I am really excited to see her and run with her! Running has kind of been a shit show for me lately. I got sick and then I got sicker, and now I am just out of shape--slowly getting back into it as my poor little body will allow! I have high hope for running in Ecuador though! The school is at 10,000ft--so I will get some good high altitude training in if nothing else! The Euro is still killing all of us over here! Please, dollar--regain your strength!! It's said--you are pretty hard pressed to find a meal under 15-20Euro--that's around 30 dollars!! Oh, America!
Anywho--Karen this post was for you, but now that you got your worms, it sounds like you don't really need it!! I hope EVERYONE is doing well--keep us all updated on summer fun, flings, and findings--like the alliteration?? Okay--looove you all~
Jess
Emily F is coming in tonight to spend a long weekend--we are going to go down south for some better beaches and warmer weather. I am really excited to see her and run with her! Running has kind of been a shit show for me lately. I got sick and then I got sicker, and now I am just out of shape--slowly getting back into it as my poor little body will allow! I have high hope for running in Ecuador though! The school is at 10,000ft--so I will get some good high altitude training in if nothing else! The Euro is still killing all of us over here! Please, dollar--regain your strength!! It's said--you are pretty hard pressed to find a meal under 15-20Euro--that's around 30 dollars!! Oh, America!
Anywho--Karen this post was for you, but now that you got your worms, it sounds like you don't really need it!! I hope EVERYONE is doing well--keep us all updated on summer fun, flings, and findings--like the alliteration?? Okay--looove you all~
Jess
Wednesday, June 11, 2008
FLOOD!!!
Hoo boy. So apparently all the rain and storms we've been having is causing quite the ruckus:
In other news, our worms finally got shipped in today, so we should be starting some actual research soon! (If our supervisor can make it in to work tomorrow - she lives across the river. Ruh roh.)
Darling it's better down where it's wetter, take it from me...
Later gators.
KB
City expands evacuation to match 500-year flood map
All the bridges downtown crossing the Cedar River are closed, so the interstate is the only means of getting around there, and exits are closing... Coe College is JUST outside of the evacuation area. Madness, just madness! Plans are not looking good for the Iron&Wine concert in Iowa City tomorrow, Julie...Although the interstate south should be ok. We'll see. Funny thing is, just across the street from us, and thus just inside the evacuation area, is St. Luke's Hospital. Uhh..how do you evacuate a hospital? Good luck with that, folks.In other news, our worms finally got shipped in today, so we should be starting some actual research soon! (If our supervisor can make it in to work tomorrow - she lives across the river. Ruh roh.)
Darling it's better down where it's wetter, take it from me...
Later gators.
KB
Thursday, June 5, 2008
Corn corn everywhere
Just kidding, there really isn't any corn in sight, I'm pretty close to downtown Cedar Rapids. Although there is a lovely statue of it downtown, ear and husk and all. Oh, Iowa.
So basically I don't have a roommate and, being used to a suite of 4, it's a little weird. So yes, Heney, I am bored!! I have things I could be doing, but really who wants to teach themselves Dan Fogelberg's "Leader of the Band" on guitar when I could be reading about what all of you are up to??
The research is going a little slow right now, since the worms don't get shipped in until the middle of next week, so there's not a whole lot for us to do. We're basically going over some techniques and uh...getting the afternoon off, like today. (But that's because our supervisor and one of our group members are sick.) Buuut as soon as we get the worms in, we'll be extracting some DNA and sequencing!! Hooray. But sadly, we'll have to sacrifice some worms to do it... I think we ordered more than we need, so maybe I'll get to keep some as pets. Then we can play with them, Anne! ;-)
Well, time to go try to occupy myself until my dinner date with Helen Pope tonight!! (I think I'm going to actually train this summer, out of sheer boredom. I mean, not that I don't usually...ahem.)
Also, what does everyone think about the new colors? I can add some pink if you'd like. Last time it was just a little bit, uh... too much pink. But if I'm overruled I can change it back.
So basically I don't have a roommate and, being used to a suite of 4, it's a little weird. So yes, Heney, I am bored!! I have things I could be doing, but really who wants to teach themselves Dan Fogelberg's "Leader of the Band" on guitar when I could be reading about what all of you are up to??
The research is going a little slow right now, since the worms don't get shipped in until the middle of next week, so there's not a whole lot for us to do. We're basically going over some techniques and uh...getting the afternoon off, like today. (But that's because our supervisor and one of our group members are sick.) Buuut as soon as we get the worms in, we'll be extracting some DNA and sequencing!! Hooray. But sadly, we'll have to sacrifice some worms to do it... I think we ordered more than we need, so maybe I'll get to keep some as pets. Then we can play with them, Anne! ;-)
Well, time to go try to occupy myself until my dinner date with Helen Pope tonight!! (I think I'm going to actually train this summer, out of sheer boredom. I mean, not that I don't usually...ahem.)
Also, what does everyone think about the new colors? I can add some pink if you'd like. Last time it was just a little bit, uh... too much pink. But if I'm overruled I can change it back.
Wednesday, June 4, 2008
Road Trip: I-90W
Ugh. Looks like I'll be doing my run in northern Ohio tomorrow night. 1300 miles is an ungodly long drive, but I'm looking forward to running some different turf between The Green Mountain State and Beloit. Stopping in Chicago for the Blues Fest this weekend. Resurrected my cell, so ring me if you're in Chi-town and don't mind hanging out with my mom-- Donna's a nice girl.
For the love of Karen Baumann (who, if I'm not mistaken, is bored in Iowa), please post your summer stuff on this thing: rave runs, wicked blisters, road races, whatever you've got.
See you in the middle...
Sunday, June 1, 2008
I'm BACK!
Hey! So I am back in Beloit now for the summer! I got here on Friday and I still trying to adjust to the time difference! AH. Anyway, I wanted to say I am sorry that I wasn't good about always posting on the blog but I assume you all understand. India was fabulous and such a journey for me but I am not going to lie when I say it is nice to have electricity again and drinkable water. :) Can't wait to catch up with you all and see many of you throughout the summer. Good so much to talk about!
Love to you all,
Alicia
Love to you all,
Alicia
Friday, May 30, 2008
The (Not Quite) Hypothetical Question
If I were to show up in Beloit, Wisconsin next Sunday and move in for the summer, who would I find in town*?
*Residing in the 53511 zip code or in a place where one might go from Beloit, Wisconsin in a fairly fuel-efficient car with $50 of gas in the tank.
*Residing in the 53511 zip code or in a place where one might go from Beloit, Wisconsin in a fairly fuel-efficient car with $50 of gas in the tank.
Wednesday, May 28, 2008
summer part 2
Yes, well, this definitely feels like summer, but so did the Galapagos. This is still awesome though- I'm pretty much a professional bum until June 7th when I leave for Minnesota, but today I mowed the lawn which was pretty successful and made dinner for the fam. That and a 1 hour run makes me feel accomplished.
Anyways, Anne just visited which was SO MUCH FUN. And yes, I'm sad she left, but it was awesome. We met in NYC and shopped and went to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History which was craazy. Afterwards was the shore, Philly, and general pitman nj goodness. She flew out yesterday (sad) but I'm super-happy that she came.
Soon enough will be my Midwest roadtrip where I will see many of you! Pumped!
bye!
Anyways, Anne just visited which was SO MUCH FUN. And yes, I'm sad she left, but it was awesome. We met in NYC and shopped and went to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History which was craazy. Afterwards was the shore, Philly, and general pitman nj goodness. She flew out yesterday (sad) but I'm super-happy that she came.
Soon enough will be my Midwest roadtrip where I will see many of you! Pumped!
bye!
SUMMER BLOGS ARE GOOD, TOO!!
Hmm, I am still in Spain, and preparing for finals! I am pretty jealous that you guys are already done!! I am not actually leaving the European continent until July 16th! But then I get to go to Connecticut (my favorite place on Earth!), then home for August...Everyone should give some summer updates. I feel like the blog is even more important now, because we are ALL scattered!! GOOD JOB! to everyone at the last chance meet! wowzer--I can hardly imagine those times!!
Same ol' same ol'---I miss you guys, Aaron, and the fam, but I need to soak up my last month of European livin! Yikes! I have to say, skipping finals, and just coming home right now, sounds pretty damn good!! Anyway, voy a comer! Os echo de menos y os quiero!! Happy runnnning this summer...or just Happy Summer!
lovelovelove
Same ol' same ol'---I miss you guys, Aaron, and the fam, but I need to soak up my last month of European livin! Yikes! I have to say, skipping finals, and just coming home right now, sounds pretty damn good!! Anyway, voy a comer! Os echo de menos y os quiero!! Happy runnnning this summer...or just Happy Summer!
lovelovelove
Friday, May 16, 2008
Summer happenings & Last Chance
hey all - i already miss beloit and all of you way too much. i hope everyone's enjoyed part 1 of the 2-wk. break... i know i've settled nicely into my fatty ways, and i'm loving it. i've started work getting the sailboats ready for the summer, but sadly will be headed off in 2 weeks before lessons even begin, to cedar rapids, iowa! helen pope style =) in the meantime, it's work every mon-fri followed by a lot of nagging about unpacking all my shit and getting my study abroad application in... with a little reading and a lot of eating on the side.
visited the last chance meet today in naperville, beautiful weather, sadly i didn't get there in time to see katie's high jump but i caught AC's 400 hurdle, a 55.36 (new PR, and .7 seconds away from provo) and hammer's last collegiate race, a solid 11:16 steeple - beating jenny scherer, might i add! chipotle burritos were enjoyed all around. glorious.
keep us updated on your summer adventures, and mark your calendars for may 22nd - indy and the kingdom of the crystal skull...
take care,
k-ron, kb, chi-town, karebear, etc...
visited the last chance meet today in naperville, beautiful weather, sadly i didn't get there in time to see katie's high jump but i caught AC's 400 hurdle, a 55.36 (new PR, and .7 seconds away from provo) and hammer's last collegiate race, a solid 11:16 steeple - beating jenny scherer, might i add! chipotle burritos were enjoyed all around. glorious.
keep us updated on your summer adventures, and mark your calendars for may 22nd - indy and the kingdom of the crystal skull...
take care,
k-ron, kb, chi-town, karebear, etc...
Monday, April 28, 2008
WW, Conference and crazy people at Ripon
As for Conference, its coming up and we're looking studly. I'm really excited about all the work everyone's been putting in and I'm sure we'll be happy to get some great PRs and hopefully some bling as well. My mom and aunt are coming for both days and I'm really excited about that! Its the first time my mom's been to Beloit or seen me run in 4 years so that will be exciting. I'm foreseeing a 1500, steeplechase and a tired 5K to wrap it up. Probably not the 10K again, that was brutal enough the first and only time!
Ellen and I visited the Ripon team this past weekend (with Jared and Anthony- an annual visit. If some of you remember, Aaron, Anthony and Eric Wright broke shit on their campus last year around this time). Let me just say they are an interesting bunch. Possibly more quarky and loud than our own group, if that is at all possible. It was an experience. We pretty much did the same things we do in Beloit, except on the Ripon campus (which is actually very beautiful). Anthony's mom, Kathy was also a delight. That woman has many words of wisdom as well as amazing little Anthony stories. I'll have to share some with you another time. One sneak peak: at a relatively young age, little Manthony was taught to cut with a real knife. Unfortunately, Kathy couldn't get him to put the thing down and the went around for the following weeks cutting up everything in the house... the sofa, the walls and the wooden door frames. A little nightmare.
I hope everyone is wonderful. I love and miss you all. Be safe and keep truckin!
Love, Hammer
Sunday, April 27, 2008
Home Sick for Yooooou
After checking up on you all via facebook and reading your posts I am desperately missing you! Maybe it's cuz I'm menstral, but I'm on the verge of tears right now not being able to see any of you. Espesh the seniors!!
Marta farta! I love that you're still trying to get M-dawg to stick - cracks me up whenever I read your posts. I must respond to your most recent message... you know how I feel about female discrimination...
While "W in the W" may seem like a trivial example, it's one of the many instances that demonstrates a common attitude of male superiority. I know I'm getting a touch dramatic, but it agrivates the hell out of me when guys play the 'no girls allowed' game...as if we taint an experience. I firmly agree with your arguement Marta in regards to women always "copying" men. An idea is not limited to a gender. There is just no reason for the consistent bashing or exclusion of women in cross or anywhere. In conclusion: No we will not sit by and watch while the boys engage in a fun cross tradition.. Right on to you all for organizing and participating in W in the W; you make me damn proud.
Ok I'm stepping off the soap box..just had to say my piece cuz I was fired up after reading some of the guys comments on the photos and after reading Marta's commentary.
Anywho -- Australia.
In the words of Mr. Darcy: It has bewitched me body and soul.
I could definitely see myself living here someday. Sydney is my favorite city anywhere (yes it even beats Beloit). I love it all.
what i don't love is the fucking internet - i just wrote a bunch of personalized messages to you guys and this was all that got saved in my draft when the internet pooped out. GAH!
no time to rewrite at the mo.
Love from Down Under!!
Cheers, Shelley Quad(ay)
Friday, April 25, 2008
AMOR ES TODO QUE NECESITAS!
(that is my haphazard translation of the Beetles--Love is all you need...I guess I am feeling a little hippyish right now--it just innately runs in my veins!--haha) I really can't believe you guys are almost done with school! Ahh! GOOD LUCK with finals! One more year of college for the Juniors!!! I don't think I am quite ready for that! Yikes! Wine in the Woods sounds and looks amazing! The pics are soooo funny! Oh man--that looks like a blast! Good job, guys! I am happy to hear that the weather is good finally! Everyone seems to be so happy!
As for moi--oui, moi--things are definitely good! And I am not almost done--which I am actually happy about since I am here! I won't get back in CSprings until July 30! My program doesn't end til the very end of June, and then my entire fam and I are going to travel around Europe for a couple of weeks! As for Valencia--it's the same--I only have nine hours of class a week, so I have just been going to the beach and enjoying the sunny weather, too! Of course there is a little running on the side with that! Haha! Although I am pretty confident, I would be coming in dead last in a race if I were to try to do it any time soon!
Everyone take care of yoursilves! Love you all and love from Espana!
As for moi--oui, moi--things are definitely good! And I am not almost done--which I am actually happy about since I am here! I won't get back in CSprings until July 30! My program doesn't end til the very end of June, and then my entire fam and I are going to travel around Europe for a couple of weeks! As for Valencia--it's the same--I only have nine hours of class a week, so I have just been going to the beach and enjoying the sunny weather, too! Of course there is a little running on the side with that! Haha! Although I am pretty confident, I would be coming in dead last in a race if I were to try to do it any time soon!
Everyone take care of yoursilves! Love you all and love from Espana!
Wednesday, April 23, 2008
Ahoy! Galapagan boats abound!
Ladies!
We just got back from a mind-blowing boat tour, where we were able to see even more interesting wildlife and some beautiful volcanoes. On Isabela, we rode horses and passed by the 2nd biggest crater in the world. We also were able to see blue-footed boobies dancing and frigatebirds showing off their red necks to attract mates up close.
Apparently, this won't be my last Galapagan boat trip. My friend John Paul e-mailed me while I was in Isabela because there was room and a need for a research assistant on a boat going to two remote islands (where tourists can't go), Genovesa and Fernandina. It looks like all of the paperwork is getting sorted out, and I will be leaving this island on May 1st to spend a few days do research in intertidal zones in Santa Cruz- then off I go. I can feel that this is going to be an adventure, and I'm beyond excited. All I need to do now is turn in the paperwork and change my plane ticket.
!!!!!!!!!
We just got back from a mind-blowing boat tour, where we were able to see even more interesting wildlife and some beautiful volcanoes. On Isabela, we rode horses and passed by the 2nd biggest crater in the world. We also were able to see blue-footed boobies dancing and frigatebirds showing off their red necks to attract mates up close.
Apparently, this won't be my last Galapagan boat trip. My friend John Paul e-mailed me while I was in Isabela because there was room and a need for a research assistant on a boat going to two remote islands (where tourists can't go), Genovesa and Fernandina. It looks like all of the paperwork is getting sorted out, and I will be leaving this island on May 1st to spend a few days do research in intertidal zones in Santa Cruz- then off I go. I can feel that this is going to be an adventure, and I'm beyond excited. All I need to do now is turn in the paperwork and change my plane ticket.
!!!!!!!!!
Saturday, April 19, 2008
oh, sleep is for the wicked
Wine in the woods f-ing rocked. Thanks to the ladies who organized it. A most excellent success. I think the "crisp" finish at hole # 2 tasted best. I never made it to hole three...just to dinner... then looked in the library where Ally and I heard the guys might be. My guess was in the map section of the basement. I think they were there looking at porn.
The team is heading out at 7 am in the morning--oh, that's about 4.5 hours from now. I can't sleep and just stumbled on this blog again--it is awesome to see everyone's posts and adventures abroad.
A little food for thought--
guys (a few) were criticizing our wine venture, saying we just copied them. This is annoying because, frankly, the whole thing was really Eckburg's (and probably Ternis' and Abel's) idea originally anyway (and none of them came up with the idea for a pub crawl either). This is also annoying because we as girls get this shit a lot--oh, we're copying guys--by running, playing basketball... writing novels...working, voting...I mean, yeah, if guys get to do these things first, then yes, we're modeling ourselves after them.
The criticism of us copying the guys made me think of an argument I've read in a few places about Title IX and how it is pointless if we, women, are just copying men and not actually doing our own things in our own ways. That kind of drives me nuts though. I mean, basketball first had really lame rules when it was "for women."
Anway, I am going to try, again, to sleep (sweet lord). But I thought it's worth posing as a question or issue.
In the meantime, rock on.
Bongles,
M. Dawg (M. Van Effing)
The team is heading out at 7 am in the morning--oh, that's about 4.5 hours from now. I can't sleep and just stumbled on this blog again--it is awesome to see everyone's posts and adventures abroad.
A little food for thought--
guys (a few) were criticizing our wine venture, saying we just copied them. This is annoying because, frankly, the whole thing was really Eckburg's (and probably Ternis' and Abel's) idea originally anyway (and none of them came up with the idea for a pub crawl either). This is also annoying because we as girls get this shit a lot--oh, we're copying guys--by running, playing basketball... writing novels...working, voting...I mean, yeah, if guys get to do these things first, then yes, we're modeling ourselves after them.
The criticism of us copying the guys made me think of an argument I've read in a few places about Title IX and how it is pointless if we, women, are just copying men and not actually doing our own things in our own ways. That kind of drives me nuts though. I mean, basketball first had really lame rules when it was "for women."
Anway, I am going to try, again, to sleep (sweet lord). But I thought it's worth posing as a question or issue.
In the meantime, rock on.
Bongles,
M. Dawg (M. Van Effing)
Friday, April 18, 2008
1ST ANNUAL WINE & WOODS
Basically... Ellen and I came up with the idea of wine and woods... it was fun... like the boys "beer wilderness". Shelly and I will have to come up with another event for the fall. we strated with 11 girls and 3 boxes/holes with 11% franzia. only four survived to the end... i was NOT one of them due to the fact that i passed out in front of facs around 7:15pm... i hate wine...anyways...
i think that cross in 2009 will be the best season ever!
peace,
-leah
i think that cross in 2009 will be the best season ever!
peace,
-leah
Monday, April 14, 2008
Walk It Out
I love all the different schedules. I don't even know how long I've been here anymore.
Actually, I'm on Spring Break. Which is disorienting and two weeks long. I take off in the morning by train to the northern coast (English Channel) and start my grand trek west.
This one time (late at night, in a bar) I said I thought it would be rugged to take a week of our break and just walk along the coast to see more of Bretagne. My rather fuzzy idea was to go B&B to B&B and eat seafood and do who-knows-how-many miles a day. And some of my friends both liked and remembered the idea.
So, starting tomorrow: 20 (+/-) miles a day. Six days. A rainy forecast.
Because idiocy is international.
There's still snow in WI?? What the hell is going on over there?
Saturday, April 12, 2008
3 MONTHS!!
Well, we have officially hit the half way mark of our visit to Spain! I can't believe--this semester (as usual) has just flown by!! I want to hear an update on everything. I talked to Manthony and he told me about formal---but, I am going to need a full update! And he also told me the meet was canceled becuase of too much snow--how have the other meets been so far??
Spain is good...it's pretty much 75 and sunny everyday..which I can't complain about! I am basically just traveling some weekends and just bumming around Valencia others (like this one). I think we are going to make our first Starbucks visit of the year today...and get a little taste of home:)
I hope you guys are all doing well! I want to read more bloggies! RUNRUNRUN! I love you all!
Spain is good...it's pretty much 75 and sunny everyday..which I can't complain about! I am basically just traveling some weekends and just bumming around Valencia others (like this one). I think we are going to make our first Starbucks visit of the year today...and get a little taste of home:)
I hope you guys are all doing well! I want to read more bloggies! RUNRUNRUN! I love you all!
Wednesday, April 9, 2008
Good news and bad news
Hey folks,
So, good news: I'm heading to Tanzania this fall! I heard from ACM last Wednesday, but haven't yet received the mountains of paperwork, so I suppose I have a legitimate reason (for once) for putting off that stuff.
Bad news: I'm heading to Tanzania this fall. Meaning I'm missing cross-country and it'll likely be another long semester before I get to see all of your shining faces again. On the upside, I will get to learn Kiswahili and meet Maasai and go on safari and complete my own research and visit Olduvai Gorge and Laetoli. Should be exciting . . .
It's great to hear from you all! Keep the news coming.
Katie
So, good news: I'm heading to Tanzania this fall! I heard from ACM last Wednesday, but haven't yet received the mountains of paperwork, so I suppose I have a legitimate reason (for once) for putting off that stuff.
Bad news: I'm heading to Tanzania this fall. Meaning I'm missing cross-country and it'll likely be another long semester before I get to see all of your shining faces again. On the upside, I will get to learn Kiswahili and meet Maasai and go on safari and complete my own research and visit Olduvai Gorge and Laetoli. Should be exciting . . .
It's great to hear from you all! Keep the news coming.
Katie
Thursday, April 3, 2008
P.S.
So apparently it looks like I will be in Western Minnesota for the summer researching Echinacea. Anyone interested in an East Coast-Midwest road trip in early June? I could drop you off in Chicago or Beloit or Minneapolis. A companion would be super-helpful in the campaign for my parents to let me take Barney (my purple Honda) out to Minn.
Monday, March 31, 2008
!!!!

We were pirates on a party boat. I sported the blue-footed booby on my shoulder in lieu of a parrot.
Ladies!
I just had a pretty intense two weeks. I too experienced the familiar face experience as my whole family came to visit me. Their trip here was a little tumultuous (missed a connection,) but it was great to see them for the first time in a while. We did an island tour, so I got to see some flamingos, penguins, white-tipped reef sharks, various fish (trumpet fish were my fave,) manta rays, sting rays, blue-footed boobies, and a ridiculous number of marine iguanas. We experienced quite the array of guides, one of which may be the sleeziest Ecuadorian I've met yet. ("Latinos are hot in the bed"? Uhh, thanks for the info.) There was horseback riding, which was fun. We saw an enourmous crater on Isabela- totally amazing. I got lots of Spanish practice because I was the only one in the group who could speak any.
When we returned to my home island (San Cristobal) my families met each other, which was fun and semi-hilarious. My one-year old host brother was really excited to see my mom/receive his Philly's hat. They left last Saturday (sad.) Thats it for visitors for the semester :).
Anyways, I miss you all tons. Best of luck in outdoor or your international adventures.
Studtz
Saturday, March 29, 2008
NAKED LOBSTER
We had our first real trip to the beach (swimming, laying out--the whole nine yards), but now I am as red as a lobster! I am so sun burnt! Ugh! This morning, I am just sitting with a sheet tied around me and I am covered in Aloe Vera and, weirdly enough, olive oil! That is what the lady told me to do at the store, so here I am!
Heney--I am glad to hear you and Emma had fun! I certainly know what you mean when you say that it was nice to have a friendly and familiar face around! Emily and Dana came out for a quick weekend a couple of weeks ago, and it was some of the most fun I have had!
Hammer- I liked your story! I hate spiders, but I feel guilty if I kill them too! How are the calves? I wish I could see you kick ass in Steeple this year! Good luck!
Aaron just left, and I was pretty depressed about it, crying and moping around, so my friend, Erica, and I just went to Alicante. It is a little warmer there than in Valencia, and the beaches are, unfortunately, way nicer!
Aaron and I DROVE (which was a crazy idea..and his) along the French Coast (which was maybe some of the most beautiful landscape I have ever seen) to Tuscany. We did Florence for day, visited my relatives, and headed for Switzerland, where we got snowed-in in the center of the Alps!! It was kind of scary, but kind of nice, too! Then we just made a couple of quick stops in France, and headed back to Valencia after getting lost numerous times! BUT, now he is gone, and I am all alone! Boo being lonely! I am homesick all over again! I am pretty excited to come home, and a little nervous about Ecuador!
Good luck with everything, ladies! I miss you all, and I hope everything is going well! Happy Spring time! The first run with shorts is always memorable!
Heney--I am glad to hear you and Emma had fun! I certainly know what you mean when you say that it was nice to have a friendly and familiar face around! Emily and Dana came out for a quick weekend a couple of weeks ago, and it was some of the most fun I have had!
Hammer- I liked your story! I hate spiders, but I feel guilty if I kill them too! How are the calves? I wish I could see you kick ass in Steeple this year! Good luck!
Aaron just left, and I was pretty depressed about it, crying and moping around, so my friend, Erica, and I just went to Alicante. It is a little warmer there than in Valencia, and the beaches are, unfortunately, way nicer!
Aaron and I DROVE (which was a crazy idea..and his
Good luck with everything, ladies! I miss you all, and I hope everything is going well! Happy Spring time! The first run with shorts is always memorable!
Friday, March 28, 2008
It's Natch
Yes, Running Can Make You High
(This is what happens when I have Internet access two days in a row: NY Times online.)
Thursday, March 27, 2008
Romantic Weekend in Paris
Met up with Emma two weekends ago at the end of her Spring Break. She attacked me as I was walking down the street to meet her at the hostel. We made quite a scene in a pleasant, touristy way.
For the Italian, we did the free Friday night trip to the Louvre to say 'hey' to Mona Lisa and the other Da Vinci's. We saw Monet's waterlilies at the Orangerie and ran by the Seine. It was a lovely weekend of schlepping our stuff between auberges in search of a room. And as is la mode in the world of Kaage, we did a lot of walking and talking. There was a rather epic incident with a consignment shop and a sex hat, but that story will have to wait for the fall.
The best part of seeing Emma was having a familiar friend to run with after three months of going it alone-- it was agreed we're both lacking you ladies in our lives. I think she managed to catch up with Foubert and a couple other Beloitiers on her big trek, but you'll have to get her on this thing to verify.
Glad to hear you're finally getting some sunlight. Chin up, Wisconsin.
Wednesday, March 26, 2008
Its Steeple Season Ladies!
The alarm goes off at 7:45 am. There's really no reason I should have set it that early. Protein Crystallography doesn't start until 10. Why the hell is my alarm going off? I reach over to my cellphone and grumpily turn it off. "ugh, its so loud, what the hell?!" I think. I yawn and stretch, my arms against the wall, toes pointed. Suddenly there's pain. Stupid dehydrated calves. I can tell my legs are mad at me for not stretching after our 1K steeple workout yesterday on our hilariously shitty track. To punish me, they both decide to Charlie horse (if that can be a verb). Fuck, I guess I have to get out of bed now and walk this off. Damn calves.
So I get out of bed and begin the daily morning rituals: wash face, brush teeth, you know, the usual. I go my fantastic walk-in closet with the goal of getting dressed only to walk straight into a spider hanging on it's thread right in the middle of the door frame. Out of fright, I quickly inhale and the spider comes within 1 mm of going inside of my mouth. Oh God. The first spider of the year. I grab a shoe and smack the shit out of it only to instantly feel guilty. Poor spider, it didn't mean to scare the shit out of me or almost go in my mouth. It probably wouldn't have liked being in my mouth anyway, it just wanted to build a web in the corner of our closet. I guiltily walk over and open the blinds and instantly the guilt is gone to a beautiful sunny day.
That was my sad attempt to tell a story. You can tell why I am not a writer. The jist of the story is that I'm wearing the first skirt of 2008 today and the whole campus is excited for the first 50 degree day. There are lunchers on the quad, frisbee golf and coat-less students. Despite the Charlie horses and the curious spider, today turned out to be a good day... and it will be better because I get to run in shorts. This may not be a big deal to those of you in warm places, but to us here in Wisconsin, that's quite amazing.
Take care everyone. The track misses you all (and so does Scupper).
Hammer
So I get out of bed and begin the daily morning rituals: wash face, brush teeth, you know, the usual. I go my fantastic walk-in closet with the goal of getting dressed only to walk straight into a spider hanging on it's thread right in the middle of the door frame. Out of fright, I quickly inhale and the spider comes within 1 mm of going inside of my mouth. Oh God. The first spider of the year. I grab a shoe and smack the shit out of it only to instantly feel guilty. Poor spider, it didn't mean to scare the shit out of me or almost go in my mouth. It probably wouldn't have liked being in my mouth anyway, it just wanted to build a web in the corner of our closet. I guiltily walk over and open the blinds and instantly the guilt is gone to a beautiful sunny day.
That was my sad attempt to tell a story. You can tell why I am not a writer. The jist of the story is that I'm wearing the first skirt of 2008 today and the whole campus is excited for the first 50 degree day. There are lunchers on the quad, frisbee golf and coat-less students. Despite the Charlie horses and the curious spider, today turned out to be a good day... and it will be better because I get to run in shorts. This may not be a big deal to those of you in warm places, but to us here in Wisconsin, that's quite amazing.
Take care everyone. The track misses you all (and so does Scupper).
Hammer
Tuesday, March 11, 2008
Tree House, Apparently
In the grand tradition of being, well, me, I'm tabling Senegal with the intention of reapplying for Fall 09. And that's final.
I regret to say I don't have enough Internet access to regard all the debauchery on Facebook, but I would love an update on Florida and Indoor from the Dairyland if there's someone with an extra minute in the library.
Sassafrass.
Love, French Julie
Hola Chicas
Hey girls-
For all of you Conference girls- excellent work. Granted, the Galapagos are great, but I still wish I could have been there. You really rocked that track.
Friday (the day anyway) was spectacular. I saw a hammerhead, sea turtles, played with sea lions, blue-footed boobies, and finally got to see a frigatebird puff out its red neck to impress a female. I had been waiting for that for a while. I was running in La Loberia, and I saw a red thing in the distance. I sprinted towards it and then found out it was some kid's backpack :(. The day was followed by a rejection to a job I thought I got (grr application lady,) but then a sort of crazy night at the bar.
Saturday I am SUPER PUMPED because my family is coming for a week!! I can't wait to see them.
The summer looks like Albany more and more. Who wants to visit me? Please? Anyone?
Mucho amor,
Julie
PS I am going to be in Beloit for the Fall, for clarification. So excited about Genetics, minus being so excited and plus dreading it. Just as exciting as Africa or more Quito, I'm sure.
For all of you Conference girls- excellent work. Granted, the Galapagos are great, but I still wish I could have been there. You really rocked that track.
Friday (the day anyway) was spectacular. I saw a hammerhead, sea turtles, played with sea lions, blue-footed boobies, and finally got to see a frigatebird puff out its red neck to impress a female. I had been waiting for that for a while. I was running in La Loberia, and I saw a red thing in the distance. I sprinted towards it and then found out it was some kid's backpack :(. The day was followed by a rejection to a job I thought I got (grr application lady,) but then a sort of crazy night at the bar.
Saturday I am SUPER PUMPED because my family is coming for a week!! I can't wait to see them.
The summer looks like Albany more and more. Who wants to visit me? Please? Anyone?
Mucho amor,
Julie
PS I am going to be in Beloit for the Fall, for clarification. So excited about Genetics, minus being so excited and plus dreading it. Just as exciting as Africa or more Quito, I'm sure.
Thursday, March 6, 2008
Africa, Apparently
It looks like someone else gets to win Big Container next year-- I found out this morning I'm going to be in Dakar, Senegal for the fall!
Looks like I will be in Beloit, WI or North Hero, VT for the summer.
Hope everyone recovers quickly from Florida.
Love,
Jules
Monday, March 3, 2008
Hey lovely ladies!
Hey Everyone!
I just wanted to say hello to everyone and wish you all good luck at conference. I hope Florida is a blast as well! I just wanted to let you all know that in two days I start my internship phase of my program and I am so excited!!! I am working at a local NGO with street children. It should be full really great to help with their therapy and education programs. I am not sure what all to expect but I know that I will be living with the children at the residential facility for the next 6 weeks! I have been busy this past week studying for exams and presentations to wrap up the classroom phase of my program. I will have limited internet access the next 6 weeks so I will write again when I can.
Much love,
Alicia
I just wanted to say hello to everyone and wish you all good luck at conference. I hope Florida is a blast as well! I just wanted to let you all know that in two days I start my internship phase of my program and I am so excited!!! I am working at a local NGO with street children. It should be full really great to help with their therapy and education programs. I am not sure what all to expect but I know that I will be living with the children at the residential facility for the next 6 weeks! I have been busy this past week studying for exams and presentations to wrap up the classroom phase of my program. I will have limited internet access the next 6 weeks so I will write again when I can.
Much love,
Alicia
Friday, February 29, 2008
March in Valencia!!
GOOD LUCK AT CONFERENCE, CHICAS! I wish I could be there to atleast watch! I am sure everyone will run great...and if you don't have the race of your life...well, know that the only person who is mad at you is yourself! That was supposed to be motivational...I don't know if it really came out right..GO TEAM!!
I just wanted to give you all an update! Dana and Em Foubert are coming down to Valencia this weekend! I am very excited, and I will let you all know how it goes! I think we are going to the touristy type things...the gigantic aquarium, maybe a cathedral, haha! And of course (something that I haven't really taken to, the crazy-ass drunken night life! People don't go out til 2am and come back at around 8am!! I can run, but I don't have that kind of stamina!!)
School here is super hard, the classes themselves as far as work load goes are easy, but the professors are a little hard to understand! The weather is finally get getting warm enough for the beach! We actually saw people swimming the other day! I don't think I am that adventurous yet, but soon! I am taking an aerobics class with some girls, which is really fun! We go Mon-Thurs..and the instructor is my grammar professor...funny, huh? I am also taking a salsa dance class--which has nothing to do with Spanish culture, but it's awesome anyway! I do have a partner, but Aaron and I are still holding strong, big surprise, huh? I have been running everyday, but I got this stomach virus thing which kind of tied me down for a while! But I am back to normal and running again! I really miss running with you guys!
Also, just wanted to throw this out there (I know some people already know, like Leah) but I applied to study abroad in Ecuador in the Fall, and I got in! So, that is in the works as of right now! Pretty exciting! I am really enjoying focusing in on my Spanish skills...and I have this dream to travel the world--figured I would get started now!
I miss you all, and I hope you all do great at Conference. I know you will! I think about you all everyday day, and I hope everyone is hanging in there with everything! Oh, and Happy Spring Break! Who's going to Florida??? Love you all!!
I just wanted to give you all an update! Dana and Em Foubert are coming down to Valencia this weekend! I am very excited, and I will let you all know how it goes! I think we are going to the touristy type things...the gigantic aquarium, maybe a cathedral, haha! And of course (something that I haven't really taken to, the crazy-ass drunken night life! People don't go out til 2am and come back at around 8am!! I can run, but I don't have that kind of stamina!!)
School here is super hard, the classes themselves as far as work load goes are easy, but the professors are a little hard to understand! The weather is finally get getting warm enough for the beach! We actually saw people swimming the other day! I don't think I am that adventurous yet, but soon! I am taking an aerobics class with some girls, which is really fun! We go Mon-Thurs..and the instructor is my grammar professor...funny, huh? I am also taking a salsa dance class--which has nothing to do with Spanish culture, but it's awesome anyway! I do have a partner, but Aaron and I are still holding strong, big surprise, huh? I have been running everyday, but I got this stomach virus thing which kind of tied me down for a while! But I am back to normal and running again! I really miss running with you guys!
Also, just wanted to throw this out there (I know some people already know, like Leah) but I applied to study abroad in Ecuador in the Fall, and I got in! So, that is in the works as of right now! Pretty exciting! I am really enjoying focusing in on my Spanish skills...and I have this dream to travel the world--figured I would get started now!
I miss you all, and I hope you all do great at Conference. I know you will! I think about you all everyday day, and I hope everyone is hanging in there with everything! Oh, and Happy Spring Break! Who's going to Florida??? Love you all!!
Thursday, February 28, 2008
Conference Time Bitches!
Hey Guuurlz!
(I'm so caught up on this girls with a "u" thing, I guess I'm so ghetto that I just can't help it)
So we're off to Conference this weekend at Illinois College in good ole' Jacksonville, Il. I just wanted to tell everyone that is in Beloit good luck. We've worked really hard so far and I know that we're going to run spectacularly! To everyone that is abroad, we love and miss you and wish that you could be here to score some sweet points for the team. Man, with Shelley and Julie around (one example) we would rock the DMR.... some podium action for sure.
I hope everyone is safe and having so much fun. I love hearing from people all the time and would love to see pictures as well. Tomorrow we're dressing up crazy style for practice. You guys abroad should do it too... just for shits and giggles.
Alright, much love.
(I'm so caught up on this girls with a "u" thing, I guess I'm so ghetto that I just can't help it)
So we're off to Conference this weekend at Illinois College in good ole' Jacksonville, Il. I just wanted to tell everyone that is in Beloit good luck. We've worked really hard so far and I know that we're going to run spectacularly! To everyone that is abroad, we love and miss you and wish that you could be here to score some sweet points for the team. Man, with Shelley and Julie around (one example) we would rock the DMR.... some podium action for sure.
I hope everyone is safe and having so much fun. I love hearing from people all the time and would love to see pictures as well. Tomorrow we're dressing up crazy style for practice. You guys abroad should do it too... just for shits and giggles.
Alright, much love.
Tuesday, February 26, 2008
India...and Running...yeah right....
Hey everyone! So I guess I should chime in and talk about running in India. It is pretty much a show here in India because women just don't run outside here. Because I am in the city there are millions of people everywhere you turn...so really there is no hiding. This has made running obviously a challenge but I try my best to ignore the stares, men actually physically standing right in front of me at the park etc. while trying to go for a run. The traffic here is also really bad...lets just say nobody uses lanes so running on the street is a bad idea. On a better note I have been doing Yoga...and since it originated in India I find it to be even more worthwhile. Otherwise I am doing alright. I don't regret my experiences in India but they are very intense and on a level that really you can't describe in words. Anyway, I start my internship soon with street children in the hills so maybe I can get some running in there...but the 100 degree temperature might get to me...who knows really. You can't predict what anything is going to be like in India...just take it as it comes!
Keep running strong ladies! Miss you all so very much.
Love,
Alicia
Keep running strong ladies! Miss you all so very much.
Love,
Alicia
Monday, February 25, 2008
Finally!!!!
Yassou!
Sooo I've wanted to post for a while now but everything here is in Greek (even Google!) so it took me a while to figure out how to sign up! But I got some help and here I am! I've enjoyed reading your posts! It sounds like running/track is going really well...keep up the good work!!
Greece is excellent so far...I absolutely love my roommates and the nightlife is nutty (in a good way, of course). Our apartment is about a 15 minute walk away from the Acropolis, and about a 10 minute walk away from the original Olumpic Stadium! You can't run on the actual track if you're a lowly civilian, but they made a path around the top that's pretty sweet. There's also the National Gardens near our apartment so I've been running there as well. Other than that it's impossible to run anywhere else!! The traffic is intense...I've almost gotten taken out by a scooter on mulitple occassions.
The Greek men here are intense...very hairy and dark. I've also had the experience of being whistled at, smooched at, or clicked at as I run or walk by. Gross!
Keep the updates coming! I miss all you guys a lot! Good luck at your meets! Love yas!
Carly
Sooo I've wanted to post for a while now but everything here is in Greek (even Google!) so it took me a while to figure out how to sign up! But I got some help and here I am! I've enjoyed reading your posts! It sounds like running/track is going really well...keep up the good work!!
Greece is excellent so far...I absolutely love my roommates and the nightlife is nutty (in a good way, of course). Our apartment is about a 15 minute walk away from the Acropolis, and about a 10 minute walk away from the original Olumpic Stadium! You can't run on the actual track if you're a lowly civilian, but they made a path around the top that's pretty sweet. There's also the National Gardens near our apartment so I've been running there as well. Other than that it's impossible to run anywhere else!! The traffic is intense...I've almost gotten taken out by a scooter on mulitple occassions.
The Greek men here are intense...very hairy and dark. I've also had the experience of being whistled at, smooched at, or clicked at as I run or walk by. Gross!
Keep the updates coming! I miss all you guys a lot! Good luck at your meets! Love yas!
Carly
Sunday, February 24, 2008
Wowww
Hey ladies-
For those of you who are abroad, I have to tell you I have the craziest professor, crazier than Roc Ordman, I promise. Anyways, yeah thats another story.
This Latino Machismo thing is sort of perplexing me. I think that a lot of the reason that that random Ecuadorian decided it would be a good idea to race me is because, well, I am a girl, and girls are slow, right? So he had to prove himself or whatever.
What also strikes me as odd when I run is the hissing. Guys actually hiss, but it doesn't make sense. I guess being a snake has some phallacal (a word?) implications, but really, if I am running by and see a snake hissing at me, what do I do? Stop? Maybe pet it? See what it can do for me? Uhhh, no. I wanna fucking run away.
In other news, I LOVE SCUBA DIVING. Like really, if you ever have the chance, hazlo... Today we dove to this huuuge shipwreck, like 100m long. It was cool to see this mix of machine and wildlife. I saw a gigantic lobster, tons of seastars, crazy algae, an octopus, giant schools of fish, rays... and also a sea lion that really enjoyed our company. He wanted to play the whole time. Eeeee. Yesterday I saw a sea turtle and what I think may have been a sea snake when I was snorkeling, but more likely an eel.
I'm really starting to settle in and enjoy this place, plus I'm meeting some great people. At about 5:30 i'm going to go on a 90 minute run with my friend Israel and possibly Danny, both are super fun. i promise, we will not race each other on the way down.
Studz
PS- What is going on in Italy?- i just sent invites to Australia and Greece, so hopefully we'll hear soon.
For those of you who are abroad, I have to tell you I have the craziest professor, crazier than Roc Ordman, I promise. Anyways, yeah thats another story.
This Latino Machismo thing is sort of perplexing me. I think that a lot of the reason that that random Ecuadorian decided it would be a good idea to race me is because, well, I am a girl, and girls are slow, right? So he had to prove himself or whatever.
What also strikes me as odd when I run is the hissing. Guys actually hiss, but it doesn't make sense. I guess being a snake has some phallacal (a word?) implications, but really, if I am running by and see a snake hissing at me, what do I do? Stop? Maybe pet it? See what it can do for me? Uhhh, no. I wanna fucking run away.
In other news, I LOVE SCUBA DIVING. Like really, if you ever have the chance, hazlo... Today we dove to this huuuge shipwreck, like 100m long. It was cool to see this mix of machine and wildlife. I saw a gigantic lobster, tons of seastars, crazy algae, an octopus, giant schools of fish, rays... and also a sea lion that really enjoyed our company. He wanted to play the whole time. Eeeee. Yesterday I saw a sea turtle and what I think may have been a sea snake when I was snorkeling, but more likely an eel.
I'm really starting to settle in and enjoy this place, plus I'm meeting some great people. At about 5:30 i'm going to go on a 90 minute run with my friend Israel and possibly Danny, both are super fun. i promise, we will not race each other on the way down.
Studz
PS- What is going on in Italy?- i just sent invites to Australia and Greece, so hopefully we'll hear soon.
Hot Trend Alert
What's in: Spitting
Where: Everywhere, all the time.
Started by: Who knows, but all the cool kids are doing it.
The DL: It's the new snotrocket (less phlegm, still expulsive) AND it's classic at the same time.
Testimonial: "I'm sick of getting spat on in public places, especially indoors, but if it looks cool, it looks cool. You can't take "cool" away from the French, mec."
In other news: I'm hopping on a train to Lyon in five minutes. It would be better if you all were here. And if someone hadn't just inadvertently spat their "coolness" onto my shoe.
Friday, February 15, 2008
julie beat some ecuadorian
so... today at practice eckburg read an email ms.julie stutz wrote to the coaches... i definitely have to say that it was freakin' hilarious. it might have even been better than d-wood's many emails of last year.
I know that many of us here in Beloit are jealous of the experiences/ fun times you are all gaining abroad but I do have to say... we are having a good time here!
It is very different with many of my close friends gone... I do miss you all of you... and i hope that you all are being safe and responsible travelers...
We are approaching conference and it is that time in the indoor season when all you want to do is NOT run... well... at least that's what i feel like. I am still having a good time... just tired...
its probably the combination of midterms and practice... ugh
i think its really good that more members of our team have joined the blog... it is nice to hear from all of you!
I know that many of us here in Beloit are jealous of the experiences/ fun times you are all gaining abroad but I do have to say... we are having a good time here!
It is very different with many of my close friends gone... I do miss you all of you... and i hope that you all are being safe and responsible travelers...
We are approaching conference and it is that time in the indoor season when all you want to do is NOT run... well... at least that's what i feel like. I am still having a good time... just tired...
its probably the combination of midterms and practice... ugh
i think its really good that more members of our team have joined the blog... it is nice to hear from all of you!
Wednesday, February 13, 2008
best dance moves this side of the galapagos
I'll tell you, I have them.
Yesterday began Galapagos week with a beach clean-up. Quite successful. Followed by fiesta, which was, well, divertida, to say the least.
I really want to spoon with a sea lion, but I don't think they would really like that.
Yesterday began Galapagos week with a beach clean-up. Quite successful. Followed by fiesta, which was, well, divertida, to say the least.
I really want to spoon with a sea lion, but I don't think they would really like that.
Je ne comprends pas
... ce qu'il faut dire. I'm in France. I'm taking the same classes I took in middle school. I'm living in French at the hands of the French. Take off for Lyon and the Alps in a week. Oh! Here are some things that might interest you:
- I eat fish.
- Running is great here, but the cobblestones are slippery and mostly it's lonely. There are some good routes in the city, but my favorite game is to run as far as I can away from the center of town. I only turn around when I start to panic that I won't be able to find my way back. This is only "okay" because the municipal bus system extends out past the burbs. Never leave home without the bus pass. I-n-t-e-r-d-i-t-e.
- France is magical in the way Disney is Floridian. It's something about the lamp posts.
- The Euro is kicking my ass.
Here are some more sentimental thoughts:
- I miss you all.
- I even miss Karen Baumann.
- Please, remind Karen to shower.
Happy Valentine's Day. Run fast. Etc.
Love, Heney
Saturday, February 9, 2008
Oh India
Hey all you ladies! I miss you all very much. There is so much to take in here. I am having a wonderful time but there are times when things are very tough to see and experience. I don't want to be a downer but the poverty and lack of sustainable development is pretty intense in India. I am thankful for my life in the US that is for sure. I miss being able to talk to you all! Hard to describe my feelings with the internet but if any of you have skype just let me know and I will skype you! Anyway I have included a couple pictures...but really you should all check out my facebook profile for more photos of my life in India! It is pretty incredible to actually be here. It still sometimes doesn't seem real. Thanks for all the updates on running performances. I am so proud of you all!! Wish I could be there to cheer you on!
Love,
Alicia
Thursday, February 7, 2008
Running with marine iguanas
The island where i am
Sea Lions are everywhere!Hiya-
So I was running today on the beach with Sarah Godfrey, and some marine iguana scared the hell out of me. It was my first marine iguana siting- pretty awesome. It really looked like a rock at first. I saw it spray salt out of its nose which was a good moment. Upon further inspection, there were tons of them around. I got super-excited.
In any case, miss you all.
Monday, February 4, 2008
Holy Crap Chicago Duals!!!
Hi ladies! I just wanted to fill those abroad in on our fabulous running skills (wish you were here to race)! The meet was at U of Chicago and was fantastic! We started the day off at noon with an amazing DMR containing Ally, Emily, Steph and Anne rocking out like a 2:50 first half of her mile. The gloriousness continued on with two fabulous runs in the 5000. Karen smashed through the 21min mark with a PR of 20:56 and Lana ran a wonderful 21:21. PRs kept rolling in in the mile from Leah (5:47) and Ellen (6:11) and a great race from Katie Singleton (6:38 a PR?). Clare H and Hilary smoked out some "tasty" 800s as Eck would say (2:52, 2:56 respectively). M-Dawg and I finished up the day with 3000s at 12:45 and 10:50 also respectively. We had some fabulous sprint and field performances and the guys punched out some great ones with a debut from Bo Wilkins who ran a 2:08, 800. I'm sure Eckburg, who put his shirt on inside out and backwards 4outof 5 days last week would say, "tiggles" to that.
Speaking of Eckburg, we missed everyone at the pig and vegitarian chili-filled super bowl bash in Eck's basement. It was crowded and entertaining (thanks to 3 puppies and Eric Wright). I think I gained like 5 pounds and I'm sure Jared is regretting eating the equivalent of 10 pork sandwiches, over eating Ian by double... no joke.
I hope everyone abroad is happy and warm.
Keep rockin' everyone else.
Hammer (I think I should apply to be the new SID)
Speaking of Eckburg, we missed everyone at the pig and vegitarian chili-filled super bowl bash in Eck's basement. It was crowded and entertaining (thanks to 3 puppies and Eric Wright). I think I gained like 5 pounds and I'm sure Jared is regretting eating the equivalent of 10 pork sandwiches, over eating Ian by double... no joke.
I hope everyone abroad is happy and warm.
Keep rockin' everyone else.
Hammer (I think I should apply to be the new SID)
Que tal todas?
Pues, I am here in Spain! We have been all over the place...Madrid, Barcelona, and all over Andalucia (in the south), and needless to say it was really fun, but REALLY tiring! I am pooped, and I didn't even get to run that much! Some of the days we walked more than 10 miles, though, so I need to join a walking team! I am morphing into Emma! Haha, j/k..but, not really. Anyway, I miss you guys! It is weird not running with everyone everyday at 4pm! I have class here at 5pm...the schedule is so weird here!! The weather is amazing, and I am loving the sunshine, unfortunately not that tan yet! Unlike Leah! (you look hot! I am loving the tan. I take it Mexico was awesome!) I saw some of the pictures from the fiesta at Eck's house. Looked like fun as usual! I hope you all enjoyed some of the piglet! BOO NEW YORK! HOORAY PATRIOTS!
I really don't have much to say, I hope you are doing well. It sounds like running is definitely going well for everyone? Bien hecho, chicas! I'll keep you all posted with the current events in Spain. Love you guys!
I really don't have much to say, I hope you are doing well. It sounds like running is definitely going well for everyone? Bien hecho, chicas! I'll keep you all posted with the current events in Spain. Love you guys!
Tuesday, January 29, 2008
rainforest!
Hiii-
Just got back from the rainforest! I made a post about it on my other blog. The place was so amazing- it really makes you care a lot more about deforestation.
I feel like I'm really growing here and gaining a lot of experience. I've found out that I like travel a lot. Seeing something for the first time is amazing and exciting.
This is one of the many volcanoes around Quito.
I have to go write a paper now, but I miss you all. Really wish I had some running buddies over here, and hey, if anyone doesn't want to go to Panama City Beach, head on over to San Cristobal for Spring Break!
Ciao!
Just got back from the rainforest! I made a post about it on my other blog. The place was so amazing- it really makes you care a lot more about deforestation.
I feel like I'm really growing here and gaining a lot of experience. I've found out that I like travel a lot. Seeing something for the first time is amazing and exciting.
This is one of the many volcanoes around Quito.I have to go write a paper now, but I miss you all. Really wish I had some running buddies over here, and hey, if anyone doesn't want to go to Panama City Beach, head on over to San Cristobal for Spring Break!
Ciao!
Sunday, January 27, 2008
Wisconsin the Beautiful
With global warming finally kicking in (fuck you Al Gore, I'm cold) (just kidding), the weather here is finally tolerable. It's around 25 degrees right now and rising to 34ish - sunny and gorgeous.
Anna, Hammer and I went on our Sunday run to Grand Canyon and played in the snow and took some pictures. It was the best Sunday run I've had in a while (considering last weekend it was too cold for Eck to even allow us outside so I had to run on the treadmill, ew) and a good follow-up to a great meet where Hammer and I both broke our mile PR's by 15 seconds - 5:29 and 5:58!! Not sure what the details are for everyone else, but I'm pretty sure a lot of people ran really well.


Anna, Hammer and I went on our Sunday run to Grand Canyon and played in the snow and took some pictures. It was the best Sunday run I've had in a while (considering last weekend it was too cold for Eck to even allow us outside so I had to run on the treadmill, ew) and a good follow-up to a great meet where Hammer and I both broke our mile PR's by 15 seconds - 5:29 and 5:58!! Not sure what the details are for everyone else, but I'm pretty sure a lot of people ran really well.


Thursday, January 24, 2008
News From the Homefront
Hello my dulcid darlings! Glad to hear everyone is having fun abroad, I miss you guys! Beloit is biterly cold, we're talking -25 pretty reguraly which is sucking big time. The other sucky thing is I am still laid up with mono. I'm definetly improving (i ran for 20 minutes 4 times this week) but its frustrating, I want to dive back into it at full force but apparently there is some risk you can burst your spleen either that or you wear down your immune system and it takes even longer to get better. So I am taking it painfully slow. On the upside running on the treadmill has allowed me to really work on my form so when I am back in action I am gonna look damn fine!
Love you girlies, keep those updates coming.
Heather
Love you girlies, keep those updates coming.
Heather
Wednesday, January 23, 2008
Best Omelette of My Life
Concerning the title, I have nothing to say except that it was worth eight Euros to put that pocket of fresh cheese and eggs in my unrefined American mouth.
I've been in Paris since Sunday. It's kind of super. I'll spare you the gory details, but suffice it to say there's a lot of red wine and espresso involved. The kids in my group are great and mostly midwestern. The thirty of us are just the American sector of a larger international posse to be assembled at the UHB in two weeks.
There's an early departure time tomorrow morning to see yet another gothic cathedral. In the afternoon, the whole group is taking cars to Rennes to meet our host families for drinks. We get to know them for a couple hours over dinner. Then we go home with them. Bad date/nightmarish kidnapping comparisons welcome.
There's been no time to run, but we do walk for almost 10 hours a day. Baguettes and brie can be consumed in motion. Scarves catch what your mouth misses. It's all very chic. Can't wait to get to Rennes and run.
Updates on the home crew are lacking on this space. Step it up, women. Bisous et croissants!
Saturday, January 19, 2008
Namaste
I have arrived in Jaipur, India! I can't believe I am here! There are so many people it is unbelievable. I have been spending the first couple days meeting others on my program and getting oriented to life in India. It is hard to describe what it feels like to be here. I am really looking forward to meeting my host family tomorrow and on Monday I start classes. It will be nice to get on a schedule and a routine so I know a little bit more of what to expect! I just wanted to let everyone know that Internet will be difficult the next couple days because I am still trying to figure out where to find things so hopefully I can get some pictures added soon!
How is the season going to far?? I have noticed know one has posted for awhile and I hope this changes...come on! We gotta keep in touch!!
Sending lots of love from India!
Love,Alicia
How is the season going to far?? I have noticed know one has posted for awhile and I hope this changes...come on! We gotta keep in touch!!
Sending lots of love from India!
Love,Alicia
Monday, January 14, 2008
Links to other blogs
Hey guys
I created a section with links to everyone's blogs, I added in Stutz's and Alicia's already. If any of you have another blog you want me to add, or just any other website, leave a comment with the URL and I'll add it in.
Hooray, practice starts today!! Who's excited....
Love Karen
I created a section with links to everyone's blogs, I added in Stutz's and Alicia's already. If any of you have another blog you want me to add, or just any other website, leave a comment with the URL and I'll add it in.
Hooray, practice starts today!! Who's excited....
Love Karen
Thursday, January 10, 2008
hii
Hey girls-
So here I am in a hotel in quito. Its pretty exciting, some great nightlife plus amazing views of mountains. This weekend I will be going to a cloud forest, then back to quito, then to a biodiversity station in the jungle, then to a mountain, and then to the Galapagos! So much is going on, but i miss you all like you have no idea, for serious. I am able to run, there is a park two mins away, but I'm getting a little bored of it. I'm scared to explore the city running simply because I know I will get lost. Get skype and give me your contact info, mine is julie.stutzbach . If you don't have a mike send me a message and i can call you for 2 cents a minute.
Happy running!
Julie
So here I am in a hotel in quito. Its pretty exciting, some great nightlife plus amazing views of mountains. This weekend I will be going to a cloud forest, then back to quito, then to a biodiversity station in the jungle, then to a mountain, and then to the Galapagos! So much is going on, but i miss you all like you have no idea, for serious. I am able to run, there is a park two mins away, but I'm getting a little bored of it. I'm scared to explore the city running simply because I know I will get lost. Get skype and give me your contact info, mine is julie.stutzbach . If you don't have a mike send me a message and i can call you for 2 cents a minute.
Happy running!
Julie
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)